Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

The Keepmoat Stadium (ATT 10,823) 15th November 2008 - Kick off 17:20 Ref: K Friend

Doncaster Doncaster Rovers vs Ipswich Town Ipswich

Doncaster v Ipswich preview

Catch Doncaster v Ipswich live on Sky Sports 1 and HD1

Last Updated: 14/11/08 1:10pm

  • Share:
Norris: Keeps place

Norris: Keeps place

David Norris will keep his place in the Ipswich Town line-up despite the furore over his controversial goal celebration last week.

Ipswich manager Jim Magilton admits he gave the incident a lot of thought, and even told the official club website he came "very close" to leaving him out after he made hand signals intended for jailed goalkeeper Luke McCormick, who is serving time for killing two young boys while drink driving.

If he changes his mind, either Tommy Miller or Ivan Campo will fill his boots.

Meanwhile, Magilton will hand a second debut to Darren Ambrose at Doncaster.

Ambrose has returned to Portman Road on loan from Charlton and could be drafted straight into the starting XI at the Keepmoat Stadium.


Also, left-back Ben Thatcher is back in training after tearing a thigh muscle in September but is short of match fitness while youngster Tommy Smith remains a long-term absentee with a broken ankle.

The big concern for Doncaster Rovers boss Sean O'Driscoll - apart from getting some much-needed Championship points - centres around defender Gareth Roberts.

Roberts is rated as doubtful for the clash with a hamstring problem, while fellow defender Jos Van Nieuwstadt is at least two weeks away from a return with a hamstring injury of his own.

But there is better news for O'Driscoll as on-loan West Brom defender Shelton Martis (hamstring), and midfielder James Coppinger (calf) are both fully fit and in contention for a place in the squad.

However, defender Sean McDaid remains a long-term absentee with a knee injury and is unlikely to play again this season.

Doncaster Rovers v Ipswich Town is live on Sky Sports 1 and HD1 from 5.15pm on Saturday.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 42 90
2 Burnley 42 83
3 Derby County 42 75
4 Queens Park Rangers 42 73
5 Wigan Athletic 41 67
6 Reading 42 64
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 42 64
8 Ipswich Town 42 64
9 Bournemouth 42 62
10 Blackburn Rovers 42 60
11 Nottingham Forest 42 59
12 Middlesbrough 42 58
13 Watford 41 57
14 Bolton Wanderers 42 54
15 Sheffield Wednesday 42 50
16 Leeds United 42 50
17 Huddersfield Town 42 46
18 Birmingham City 41 43
19 Doncaster Rovers 42 43
20 Blackpool 42 42
21 Charlton Athletic 41 41
22 Millwall 42 40
23 Barnsley 42 39
24 Yeovil Town 42 36