Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Vicarage Road Stadium (ATT 15,856) 31st December 2005 - Kick off 13:00 Ref: P Dowd

Watford Watford vs Crystal Palace C Palace


Hornets pay the penalty

By Simon Fudge.   Last Updated: 31/12/05 6:10pm

  • Share:

Crystal Palace boosted their promotion hopes with an important 2-1 victory at Watford on New Year's Eve.

It was a third straight win for The Eagles, who claimed the points through a disputed second half penalty from Andy Johnson.

Following a cagey start at Vicarage Road, Palace took the lead on 18 minutes when Darren Ward scored his second goal in as many matches after converting Jobi McAnuff's free kick at the far post.

The visitors nearly doubled their lead, but McAnuff saw his angled shot pushed around the post by Watford's on-loan goalkeeper Ben Foster, as Palace took a one-goal lead into the half-time break.

Marlon King had an early chance just after half time for Watford, while Tom Soares forced a fine save from Foster after trying to chip the Watford number one.

The home side levelled just before the hour mark, as King headed Gavin Mahon's long ball forward into the path of Darius Henderson and he struck home from close range.

Palace goalkeeper Gabor Kiraly then made an instinctive save to deny Clarke Carlisle at the far post five minutes later, as Watford looked odds-on to win the contest.

Palace, however, had other ideas and were rewarded a controversial penalty midway through the second half.

Referee Phil Dowd adjudged Carlisle to have pulled back Clinton Morrison in the Watford box and Johnson converted the spot kick to claim all three points for Iain Dowie's side.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Nottingham Forest 8 18
2 Norwich City 8 17
3 Wolverhampton Wanderers 8 17
4 Watford 8 16
5 Middlesbrough 8 15
6 Sheffield Wednesday 8 15
7 Charlton Athletic 8 14
8 Derby County 8 13
9 Blackburn Rovers 8 13
10 Reading 8 13
11 Leeds United 8 13
12 Ipswich Town 7 11
13 Millwall 8 11
14 Brentford 8 11
15 Bournemouth 8 9
16 Cardiff City 8 9
17 Wigan Athletic 7 8
18 Brighton and Hove Albion 8 8
19 Rotherham United 8 8
20 Birmingham City 8 7
21 Bolton Wanderers 8 5
22 Huddersfield Town 8 5
23 Blackpool 8 2
24 Fulham 8 1