Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

The Den (ATT 8,450) 28th December 2005 - Kick off 19:45 Ref: A Marriner

Millwall Millwall vs Watford Watford


Stalemate at The Den

By Patrick Whyte.   Last Updated: 28/12/05 11:14pm

  • Share:

David Tuttle's first game in charge of Milwall ended in a 0-0 draw against Watford.

Despite claiming a point in his first game in charge, The Lions remain rooted to the bottom of the championship, while Watford stay in promotion contention.

The home side started the game strongest and were unlucky not to take the lead on 21 minutes. Bruce Dyer, on loan from Stoke, could only watch in agony as his header struck the far post - denying him a goal against one of his former clubs.

Millwall's poor finishing continued as Kevin Braniff squandered another chance on 33 minutes. Initially, he was lucky to get the opportunity after Paul Robinson's shot deflected off Clarke Carlisle.

Nevertheless, once the chance presented itself the striker should have been able to hit the target instead of shooting wide.

Millwall did not have the first half all their way, with Watford also failing to put away their chances.

Darius Henderson managed to outmuscle Zak Whitbread before squaring the ball to Gavin Mahon, but the former Brentford man wasted the opportunity.

As was the case at the start of the game, Millwall were brightest at the beginning of the half.

However, they failed to translate their pressure into goalscoring opportunities.

Indeed, home keeper Colin Doyle was called upon to keep his side in the game with a great save from Darius Henderson.

Marlon King released Matthew Spring on 66 minutes, who delivered a wicked cross which Henderson met with a downward header from inside the six yard box. But somehow Doyle got his feet to the attempt and kept the ball out of the net.

Late in the game, King almost snatched all three points for The Hornets, capping a great all round performance with a superb long range effort which flew past Doyle's left post.

Click below for an individual match summary:
Millwall 0-0 Watford



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Nottingham Forest 7 17
2 Norwich City 7 16
3 Watford 7 15
4 Wolverhampton Wanderers 7 14
5 Charlton Athletic 7 13
6 Reading 7 13
7 Derby County 7 12
8 Sheffield Wednesday 7 12
9 Middlesbrough 7 12
10 Ipswich Town 7 11
11 Brentford 7 11
12 Millwall 7 10
13 Blackburn Rovers 7 10
14 Leeds United 7 10
15 Bournemouth 7 8
16 Wigan Athletic 7 8
17 Cardiff City 7 8
18 Brighton and Hove Albion 7 7
19 Rotherham United 7 7
20 Birmingham City 7 6
21 Bolton Wanderers 7 5
22 Huddersfield Town 7 5
23 Blackpool 7 1
24 Fulham 7 1