Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Britannia Stadium (ATT 13,205) 22nd November 2005 - Kick off 19:45 Ref: M Jones

Stoke City Stoke City vs Derby County Derby


Derby 2

Nyatanga seals Rams fightback

By Andy Clarke.   Last Updated: 22/11/05 5:16pm

  • Share:

Youngster Lewin Nyatanga completed Derby's fine comeback as they beat Stoke 2-1 at The Britannia Stadium.

The 17-year-old scored his first senior goal after Tommy Smith had cancelled out Sam Bangoura's opener for City, to bring an end to Derby's six-match run without a win.

The Rams' last victory came against Stoke at Pride Park in October - also by a 2-1 scoreline - and this their fourth win of the season steered them away from immediate danger.

They had the brighter moments in a scrappy opening, as Inigo Idiakez twice tested Steve Simonsen from distance, before Stoke began to respond, as Mamady Sidibe headed straight at Lee Camp.

Bangoura, who scored the opener in The Potters' last two matches, was on target first once again when a throw-in from John Halls was flicked on by Sidibe and the Guinea international hammered his fifth goal in six starts.

Paul Gallagher had two free kicks pushed away by Camp as Stoke looked for a second before the interval, and they continued to dominate after the break with Gallagher missing two further chances.

But Derby got themselves back in the game on 64 minutes when Dexter Blackstock found Smith, who beat Simonsen with a low shot, before Nyatanga headed in an Idiakez free kick six minutes later.

Bangoura missed Stoke's only chance to salvage a point when he was denied by Camp seven minutes from time.

Stoke manager Johan Boskamp missed the match through illness, but he did meet chairman Gunnar Gislason earlier in the day for talks about his working relationship with assistant manager Jan de Koning and director of football John Rudge.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 43 93
2 Burnley 43 86
3 Derby County 43 78
4 Queens Park Rangers 43 73
5 Wigan Athletic 42 70
6 Brighton and Hove Albion 43 65
7 Reading 43 64
8 Ipswich Town 43 64
9 Nottingham Forest 43 62
10 Bournemouth 43 62
11 Blackburn Rovers 43 61
12 Watford 42 60
13 Middlesbrough 43 58
14 Bolton Wanderers 43 55
15 Sheffield Wednesday 43 53
16 Leeds United 43 53
17 Huddersfield Town 43 47
18 Birmingham City 42 43
19 Doncaster Rovers 43 43
20 Millwall 43 43
21 Charlton Athletic 42 42
22 Blackpool 43 42
23 Barnsley 43 39
24 Yeovil Town 43 37