Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Carrow Road (ATT 23,981) 10th September 2005 - Kick off 12:45 Ref: B Knight

Norwich Norwich City vs Plymouth Argyle Plymouth


Norwich earn first win

By Andy Clarke.   Last Updated: 10/09/05 2:35pm

  • Share:

Dean Ashton proved once again that he is a class apart from Championship level as he inspired Norwich City to a 2-0 win over Plymouth - their first victory of the season.

The £3 million striker scored one and could have had several more as The Canaries put the misery of the opening month of the campaign behind them with a comfortable success.

Mathias Doumbe's own goal, after Paul McVeigh's shot had been parried against his legs by Romain Larrieu, put Norwich ahead inside 20 minutes, before Ashton stole the show.

He easily evaded Doumbe's weak challenge to volley in Jurgen Colin's right-wing cross eight minutes before the interval and effectively put the result beyond doubt.

Ashton then crashed a right-foot shot against a post early in the second half before flashing another 20-yarder a whisker wide of Larrieu's goal.

Ashton apart, Norwich carried little threat in the absence of Darren Huckerby and Leon McKenzie, but the ease of their win will alarm Plymouth, who parted company with manager Bobby Williamson earlier in the week.

Jocky Scott took charge for this game but failed to break a losing sequence which now stretches to five games in which Argyle have failed to score.

They did have their moments, notably when Paul Wotton rattled a post from distance shortly before Doumbe's own goal and when the same player stung Robert Green's palms with another trademark piledriver.

But Micky Evans and Nick Chadwick laboured up front without troubling the Norwich defence and Kevin Lisbie might have added a third for City on his debut, only to be adjudged offside.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 22 42
2 Ipswich Town 22 41
3 Brentford 22 40
4 Middlesbrough 22 39
5 Derby County 22 39
6 Watford 22 38
7 Norwich City 22 34
8 Blackburn Rovers 22 34
9 Nottingham Forest 22 31
10 Wolverhampton Wanderers 22 31
11 Cardiff City 22 30
12 Charlton Athletic 22 30
13 Fulham 22 28
14 Sheffield Wednesday 22 28
15 Birmingham City 22 28
16 Bolton Wanderers 22 26
17 Reading 22 25
18 Leeds United 22 24
19 Rotherham United 22 24
20 Huddersfield Town 22 24
21 Millwall 22 23
22 Brighton and Hove Albion 22 19
23 Wigan Athletic 22 17
24 Blackpool 22 13


Related Profiles