Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Withdean Stadium (ATT 6,238) 29th August 2005 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: D Gallagher

Brighton Brighton and Hove Albion vs Plymouth Argyle Plymouth

Seagulls sink Pilgrims

By James Pearson.   Last Updated: 29/08/05 4:51pm

  • Share:

Brighton secured their first Championship win of the campaign following a fully-deserved 2-0 win over Plymouth at The Withdean Stadium.

Jake Robinson opened the scoring with a well-taken goal after 11 minutes with Richard Carpenter's second just after the interval securing the points.

Brighton began the better of the sides and their endeavour was rewarded when young striker Robinson netted his second goal of the season.

The striker slotted through the legs of keeper Romain Larrieu and scored - despite the best efforts of Rufus Brevett to clear off the line.

The home side continued to dominate the proceedings with Carpenter and Paul McShane going close, while at the other end Paul Wotton stung Wayne Henderson's fingers with a fine free kick.

Leon Knight came close to getting his name on the scoresheet with a fine volley from a tight angle, while Mathias Doumbe should have done better from close range just before the interval from Taribo West's cross.

Plymouth's hopes of turning things around after the break faded just a minute in with Carpenter lashing home from outside the box following good work down the left from Albert Jarrett.

Knight was then through on goal but failed to get any purchase on his shot while at the other end Henderson had to be on his guard to save West's long-range effort.

Dean Hammond should have added a third late on for The Seagulls but he headed Carpenter's cross over the bar, however it did not prove costly as Brighton claimed the victory.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Birmingham City 0 0
2 Blackburn Rovers 0 0
3 Blackpool 0 0
4 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
5 Bournemouth 0 0
6 Brentford 0 0
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 0 0
8 Cardiff City 0 0
9 Charlton Athletic 0 0
10 Derby County 0 0
11 Fulham 0 0
12 Huddersfield Town 0 0
13 Ipswich Town 0 0
14 Leeds United 0 0
15 Middlesbrough 0 0
16 Millwall 0 0
17 Norwich City 0 0
18 Nottingham Forest 0 0
19 Reading 0 0
20 Rotherham United 0 0
21 Sheffield Wednesday 0 0
22 Watford 0 0
23 Wigan Athletic 0 0
24 Wolverhampton Wanderers 0 0


Related Profiles