Select a Team

Sky Bet League 2

Don Valley Stadium (ATT 3,801) 18th October 2008 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: G Salisbury

Rotherham Rotherham United vs Barnet Barnet


Barnet 4

Millers stung in Bees thriller

Seven-goal thriller at Don Valley Stadium

Last Updated: 18/10/08 7:30pm

  • Share:
Akurang: Bagged a brace

Akurang: Bagged a brace

Rotherham suffered their first home defeat of the season, a 4-3 defeat at the hands of Barnet.

Rotherham suffered their first home defeat of the season, a 4-3 defeat at the hands of Barnet, who played for more than an hour with 10 men.

Rotherham had the advantage of an early lead when Nick Fenton headed home from Dale Tonge's seventh minute cross. But in the 18th minute Barnet were level when Albert Adomah crossed from the right and Luke Medley scored a close range header into the far corner.

Rotherham should have retaken the lead in the 29th minute, Alex Rhodes burst through, took the ball round goalkeeper Lee Harrison but as he was about to tap into the empty net he was felled from behind by Max Porter. Porter received an immediate red card - but Harrison easily saved Mark Hudson's weak spot kick.

However, ten-man Barnet then proceeded to take the lead. Adomah got the ball wide on the right and a cross looked his only option, but he lashed a shot across Andy Warrington and into the net.

And Barnet had more up their sleeve 12 minutes into the second half when Rotherham stood off Cliff Akurang and he took the ball into the area, round the keeper and tapped it into the empty net.

They then made it four when the Rotherham defence failed to deal with Harrison's long goal kick and Akurang was again left with a tap in to an empty net.

Ian Sharps started a Rotherham fight back in the 70th minute when he headed home from Tonge's free kick, before the Millers won their second penalty of the game 12 minutes from time.

Reuben Reid was tripped and substitute Mark Burchill scored from the spot, but Barnet hung on for a famous victory.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 2

Sky Bet League 2
Pos Team P Pts
1 Shrewsbury Town 34 64
2 Burton Albion 34 64
3 Wycombe Wanderers 34 63
4 Luton Town 34 58
5 Bury 34 58
6 Southend United 34 58
7 Newport County AFC 34 53
8 Plymouth Argyle 34 52
9 Stevenage 34 52
10 Northampton Town 34 50
11 AFC Wimbledon 34 46
12 Morecambe 34 45
13 Portsmouth 34 44
14 Exeter City 34 44
15 Accrington Stanley 34 43
16 Cambridge United 34 41
17 Mansfield Town 34 41
18 Dagenham & Redbridge 34 40
19 Oxford United 34 39
20 York City 34 36
21 Carlisle United 34 36
22 Tranmere Rovers 34 34
23 Cheltenham Town 34 34
24 Hartlepool United 34 27