Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

The King Power Stadium (ATT 23,894) 16th April 2005 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: K Stroud

Leicester Leicester City vs Wigan Athletic Wigan

Brett at the double

By Lee Walker.   Last Updated: 16/04/05 4:51pm

  • Share:

Wigan boosted their chances of automatic promotion as on-loan Brett Ormerod scored a brace in a 2-0 victory at Leicester.

Ormerod scored his first goal for Athletic after 25 minutes when a free-kick swung in from the left by Graham Kavanagh was headed by Patrick McCarthy off the striker and into the back of the net.

The much-travelled frontman settled matters on the stroke of the hour as he soared above Keith Gillespie at the far post to nod home a Kavanagh free-kick.

Paul Jewell's side started the brighter and Kavanagh had an early shot deflected for a corner and then Ormerord was just over the top from the resulting set-piece.

Ian Walker also had to be alert to claw a Matt Jackson header away from danger before the Foxes finally came to life with Mark de Vries and David Connolly forcing saves from John Filan.

But it was Athletic who took a well deserved lead and Jason Jarrett could have swiftly doubled the advantage after robbing Joey Gudjonsson on the edge of the penalty area but he screwed his shot wide.

The game became increasingly petulant with Foxes skipper Danny Tiatto booked for a reckless elbow on Jarrett but the home side started brightly after the break with the bustling de Vries shooting into the side netting.

But Ormerod's second took the sting out of Craig Levein's men and the Southampton man scented a hat-trick, volleying just over after 67 minutes and three minutes later having another effort which was saved.

Jason Roberts also wasted a good opportunity, sidefooting straight to Walker from close range who also denied Kavanagh but Wigan cruised to three points to move within two points of Coca-Cola Championship leaders Sunderland.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Nottingham Forest 3 7
2 Cardiff City 3 7
3 Millwall 3 7
4 Charlton Athletic 3 7
5 Bournemouth 3 6
6 Norwich City 3 6
7 Watford 3 6
8 Middlesbrough 3 6
9 Wolverhampton Wanderers 3 6
10 Sheffield Wednesday 3 5
11 Ipswich Town 3 4
12 Reading 3 4
13 Brentford 3 4
14 Derby County 3 4
15 Blackburn Rovers 3 4
16 Birmingham City 3 4
17 Brighton and Hove Albion 3 3
18 Rotherham United 3 3
19 Leeds United 3 3
20 Huddersfield Town 3 3
21 Wigan Athletic 3 1
22 Bolton Wanderers 3 1
23 Fulham 3 0
24 Blackpool 3 0


Related Profiles