Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Turf Moor (ATT 11,507) 2nd April 2005 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: M Pike

Burnley Burnley vs Watford Watford


Defeat adds to Watford woes

Last Updated: 02/04/05 7:00pm

  • Share:

Watford remain in danger of relegation after Adrian Boothroyd's first match in charge ended with a 3-1 defeat at Burnley.

The Hornets have slipped into the battle for survival after five defeats in six games and Boothroyd, a 34-year-old coach with Leeds United, was brought in this week to ensure their Championship status after Ray Lewington was surprisingly sacked.

His reign, however, is off to an inauspicious start and he must lift his players after they moved to within two points of the bottom three.

Two defensive errors in the first half meant they were always chasing the game as goals by Dean Bowditch and James O'Connor gave Burnley a two-goal cushion by the break.

Bowditch, on loan from Ipswich and scorer of a hat-trick against Watford last season, was afforded acres of space to score the first, as he chased a hopeful long ball and beat Richard Lee with a fine finish.

O'Connor then went unchallenged as he beat Lee with a drive from the edge of the area two minutes before half time.

Boothroyd sent on three substitutes in an effort to turn the tide in the second half and two of them combined to bring Watford back into the game on 77 minutes, Dominic Blizzard heading in from Anthony McNamee's corner.

However, Burnley wrapped up the points in the dying seconds when Valois turned the ball past Lee from a tight angle.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 44 96
2 Burnley 44 89
3 Derby County 44 81
4 Queens Park Rangers 44 76
5 Wigan Athletic 43 70
6 Reading 44 67
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 44 66
8 Nottingham Forest 44 65
9 Ipswich Town 44 65
10 Blackburn Rovers 44 64
11 Bournemouth 44 63
12 Watford 43 60
13 Middlesbrough 44 58
14 Bolton Wanderers 44 55
15 Sheffield Wednesday 44 53
16 Leeds United 44 53
17 Huddersfield Town 44 50
18 Charlton Athletic 43 45
19 Doncaster Rovers 44 44
20 Millwall 44 44
21 Birmingham City 43 43
22 Blackpool 44 43
23 Barnsley 44 39
24 Yeovil Town 44 37