Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

DW Stadium (ATT 12,993) 2nd April 2005 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: B Curson

Wigan Wigan Athletic vs West Ham United West Ham

Hammer blow for Latics

By Andy Clarke.   Last Updated: 02/04/05 5:30pm

  • Share:

Goals from Teddy Sheringham and Marlon Harewood gave West Ham a precious 2-1 victory over Wigan at the JJB Stadium which could prove damaging for the Latics' hopes of automatic promotion.

A last minute equaliser from Brian Deane in this fixture on the final day of last season cost Wigan a place in the play-offs and the effects of this defeat could prove even more costly.

The victory for Alan Pardew's side was necessary to revive their flagging play-off push after a run of five games without a win and underlined the inherent inconsistency of a team which has now beaten Sunderland, Wigan and Ipswich away from home.

Wigan dominated the first half and were made to pay for missing their chances. Graham Kavanagh and Gary Teale flashed shots wide inside the first 10 minutes and Teale then went close again after a dazzling run.

Nathan Ellington twice teed up chances for Roberts as the first half drew to a close, but he put one wide and then shot straight at Hammers keeper Jimmy Walker.

At the opposite end, Harewood missed the visitors' best chance when he was played in by Nigel Reo-Coker but could only shoot wide of John Filan's goal.

Wigan made the breakthrough six minutes into the second half when Roberts collected Kavanagh's through ball and held off the challenge of Tomas Repka before shooting low past Walker.

Yet their lead lasted only four minutes, before a defensive mix-up between Ian Breckin and David Wright allowed the ball to roll free to Sheringham, who celebrated his 39th birthday with a powerful finish.

Harewood then completed the comeback with a neat finish from the edge of the area after being put through by Mark Noble.

Wigan failed to mount the late charge which had been expected of them and only a smart save from Filan prevented Harewood from adding a third.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 46 90
2 Watford 46 89
3 Norwich City 46 86
4 Middlesbrough 46 85
5 Brentford 46 78
6 Ipswich Town 46 78
7 Wolverhampton Wanderers 46 78
8 Derby County 46 77
9 Blackburn Rovers 46 67
10 Birmingham City 46 63
11 Cardiff City 46 62
12 Charlton Athletic 46 60
13 Sheffield Wednesday 46 60
14 Nottingham Forest 46 59
15 Leeds United 46 56
16 Huddersfield Town 46 55
17 Fulham 46 52
18 Bolton Wanderers 46 51
19 Reading 46 50
20 Brighton and Hove Albion 46 47
21 Rotherham United 46 46
22 Millwall 46 41
23 Wigan Athletic 46 39
24 Blackpool 46 26