Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Boleyn Ground (ATT 26,442) 5th March 2005 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: S Tanner

West Ham West Ham United vs Preston North End Preston


Irons blow up against PNE

By Patrick Goss.   Last Updated: 05/03/05 2:47pm

  • Share:

Preston underlined their play-off credentials with a fine 2-1 win against West Ham at Upton Park.

A crucial error from goalkeeper Stephen Bywater and Tomas Repka's sending off gifted Preston a crucial win, and left the West Ham crowd baying for blood.

David Nugent had opened the scoring, and substitute Patrick Agyemang sealed victory before Bobby Zamora's late consolation.

In truth, The Irons can have very little complaint at the scoreline after once against flattering to deceive.

Chris Sedgewick had been relived when Chris Day stopped him putting through his own net before Bywater's howler gifted North End the opener.

Bywater miscontrolled a through ball, was robbed by Nugent and could only watch as the ball was tapped into the empty net.

Bywater did his best to make amends, and saved well from Sedgwick, but Repka became the second Championship player in 24 hours to see read for a head-butt when he clashed with Brian O'Neil.

With numerical advantage showing, Nugent had an effort ruled out for offside and allowed Bywater to save another good effort despite going past the keeper once. However substitute Agyemang grabbed the crucial second with his first major contribution firing low past Bywater after making his own space in the box.

Zamora did strike late on, volleying home Marlon Harewood's fine cross, but it was too little, too late for West Ham.



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 44 96
2 Burnley 44 89
3 Derby County 44 81
4 Queens Park Rangers 44 76
5 Wigan Athletic 43 70
6 Reading 44 67
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 44 66
8 Nottingham Forest 44 65
9 Ipswich Town 44 65
10 Blackburn Rovers 44 64
11 Bournemouth 44 63
12 Watford 43 60
13 Middlesbrough 44 58
14 Bolton Wanderers 44 55
15 Sheffield Wednesday 44 53
16 Leeds United 44 53
17 Huddersfield Town 44 50
18 Charlton Athletic 43 45
19 Doncaster Rovers 44 44
20 Millwall 44 44
21 Birmingham City 43 43
22 Blackpool 44 43
23 Barnsley 44 39
24 Yeovil Town 44 37