Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Vicarage Road Stadium (ATT 13,237) 16th September 2008 - Kick off 19:45 Ref: C Penton

Watford Watford vs Plymouth Argyle Plymouth


Argyle enjoy first win

Plymouth win away to climb off bottom

Last Updated: 16/09/08 10:55pm

  • Share:
Sturrock: Made seven changes

Sturrock: Made seven changes

Plymouth climbed off the foot of the Coca-Cola Championship after winning 2-1 at Watford to celebrate their first league victory of the season.

Goals in each half from Karl Duguid and Luke Summerfield proved enough for Argyle and condemned Watford to their first home defeat this term.

Duguid struck a 30th-minute opener and Summerfield sealed it with a 72nd-minute penalty before John-Joe O'Toole pulled one back with seven minutes left.

Argyle boss Paul Sturrock made seven changes from the side which was beaten 2-1 at home to Norwich on Saturday to cap their worst start in 14 years, while Adrian Boothroyd kept faith with the XI which went down at Sheffield Wednesday.

The hosts started brightly and they created a decent opportunity in the fourth minute.

Jobi McAnuff came off his station on the left to spread it to O'Toole and his driven ball across the area just evaded Tamas Priskin in the middle.

Paul Gallagher provided some nice touches for Plymouth before Priskin had a clear sight of goal.

Lloyd Doyley's flick-on released the Hungarian down the right but after he did well to cut inside Marcel Seip he could only roll a tame shot into Romain Larrieu's hands.

Argyle forward Jamie Mackie then hit a rising half-volley which Mart Poom had to pat down before Gallagher nearly got clear after indecision between Poom and Leigh Bromby.

Away effort

The visitors were pushing forward and went ahead through skipper Duguid after a decent passing move.

The ball was worked out to Chris Clark on the left and his cross to the near post was laid off by Rory Fallon into the former Colchester man's path.

Duguid kept his composure and nonchalantly steered the ball into the corner from 15 yards with a left-footed half-volley to register his first for the club.

Boothroyd made a change at the break, sending on Will Hoskins for Priskin, but it was John Eustace who had the first effort when his volley from a half-cleared corner was tipped around the post by Larrieu.

The pressure was building on the Argyle goal and Hoskins should have had his first league goal for the Hornets in the 54th minute.

Jon Harley's free-kick on the left was headed down by Bromby and after getting across his defender Hoskins should have profited but instead lashed his shot into the side-netting from four yards.

It proved to be a costly miss as the visitors doubled the lead with 18 minutes remaining.

Gallagher dropped deep to pick up possession and floated a delightful 40-yard ball to the back post.

Fallon got up well to guide a header towards goal but it was inexplicably blocked by Hornets captain Jay DeMerit, who jumped with both hands above his head.

It was a clear penalty and Summerfield drilled the ball into the bottom left corner to the delight of the impressive away following behind the goal.

Gallagher then headed against the underside of the crossbar after a fine cross from Mackie as Boothroyd's side pushed forward before they did snatch a goal back.

Lee Williamson's 83rd-minute corner was headed across goal and when Tommy Smith lashed a shot across the six-yard box O'Toole turned it in from close range to score a late goal for the third home game in a row.

That gave the Hornets hope but Hoskins saw a goal chalked off in injury-time for offside as the Pilgrims held on for a vital win.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Middlesbrough 35 66
2 Derby County 35 65
3 Watford 35 65
4 Bournemouth 35 63
5 Norwich City 34 62
6 Brentford 35 61
7 Ipswich Town 34 60
8 Wolverhampton Wanderers 35 57
9 Nottingham Forest 35 50
10 Sheffield Wednesday 34 46
11 Blackburn Rovers 34 45
12 Charlton Athletic 35 45
13 Cardiff City 35 44
14 Birmingham City 34 42
15 Huddersfield Town 35 42
16 Leeds United 34 41
17 Bolton Wanderers 35 41
18 Reading 35 41
19 Brighton and Hove Albion 35 40
20 Fulham 35 39
21 Rotherham United 35 37
22 Millwall 35 31
23 Wigan Athletic 34 28
24 Blackpool 34 22