Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

San Mames (ATT 48,300) 30th August 2014 - Kick off 18:00 Ref: Pedro Jesus Perez Montero

Ath Bilbao Athletic Bilbao vs Levante Levante

Ath Bilbao 3

A Aduriz (32)
A Iturraspe (51)
I Muniain (77)


Sky Sports 5

Three and easy for Bilbao

Last Updated: 30/08/14 8:25pm

  • Share:
Ander Iturraspe of Bilbao celebrates after scoring

Ander Iturraspe of Bilbao celebrates after scoring

Athletic Bilbao got their first win of the season at the second time of asking as they comprehensively beat Levante 3-0 on Saturday evening.

Having lost narrowly at Malaga a week ago, Ernesto Valverde's men got their season up and running in some style at San Mames.

Aritz Aduriz got the opener 32 minutes in and Ander Iturraspe erased the prospect of any late nerves with a second after the break.

It was party time after that and Iker Muniain added a third 13 minutes from the end.

Levante failed to really get a good sight of Athletic's goal all afternoon and ultimately they allowed their hosts too many chances.

The first of them came 13 minutes in when Aduriz put over the bar, before Levante had two sighters from Roberto Camarasa and Ivan Lopez.

Athletic returned to the front foot after that and Mikel Balenziaga hit wide before Aduriz put them ahead.

He snuck in to connect with Gomez Ibai's corner and slotted in from close range.

The creator then tried to score himself, shooting wide, but he made another after the break as his cross was perfect for Iturraspe who nodded in for a 51st-minute second.

Levante briefly tried to respond with David Barral making a mess of a header, but it was Athletic who remained the better side.

Mikel Rico shot over when he may have done better, before Muniain added a third when Jesus Fernandez was unable to handle Aduriz's shot from the edge of the box.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Real Madrid 15 39
2 Barcelona 15 35
3 Atletico Madrid 15 32
4 Sevilla 15 30
5 Valencia 15 28
6 Villarreal 15 27
7 Malaga 15 27
8 Celta Vigo 15 20
9 Eibar 15 20
10 Athletic Bilbao 15 19
11 Espanyol 15 17
12 Rayo Vallecano 15 17
13 Getafe 15 16
14 Real Sociedad 15 14
15 Levante 15 14
16 Deportivo La Coruna 15 13
17 Granada 15 12
18 Cordoba 15 11
19 Almeria 15 10
20 Elche 15 10