Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Macron Stadium (ATT 12,790) 10th February 2015 - Kick off 20:00

Bolton Bolton Wanderers vs Fulham Fulham

Bolton 3

E Gudjohnsen (44)
S Janko (80)
A Le Fondre (89)


Fulham 1

S Hutchinson (21)

Sky Bet Championship: Bolton recover to record 3-1 victory over Fulham

Last Updated: 11/02/15 10:03pm

  • Share:

Saidy Janko blasted a spectacular debut goal as Bolton beat Fulham 3-1 to register their first win over the Cottagers in eight years.

Saidy Janko blasted a spectacular debut goal as Bolton beat Fulham 3-1 to register their first win over the Cottagers in eight years.

The Manchester United teenager only completed his loan signing earlier in the day after last Monday's transfer deadline switch was held-up through red tape.

But he wasted no time making an impact, capping his impressive first appearance for Neil Lennon's side with a rasping 25 yard drive 10 minutes from time as Kit Symons side failed to capitalise on a promising start to the Sky Bet Championship encounter.

The Swiss-born youngster's stunning goal returned the Trotters to winning ways after three defeats and two draws from their previous five games.

He also provided the cross for Eidur Gudjohnsen's third goal of his Bolton comeback and his first from open play for the Trotters since 2000 when he also netted home and away against the Londoners.

Adam Le Fondre rubber-stamped Wanderers' deserved success after 89 minutes with his first goal since joining on loan from Cardiff after a dreadful error by Marcus Bettinelli.

Wanderers were excellent value for their win after a slow start. Indeed, Gudjohnsen's shot, blocked by Shaun Hutchinson, was the only meaningful goal attempt in a sterile opening 20 minutes.

The veteran Icelander, named as Wanderers' seventh captain of the season, appealed for handball but referee Graham Sutton remained unmoved.

And in their first attack, after 21 minutes, the Cottagers took the lead.

Nikolay Bodurov's flicked header was well saved by Andy Lonergan but from the resulting corner, Alexander Kacaniklic cut the ball back for ex-Motherwell defender Hutchinson to fire home his second goal of the season from close range.

Unmarked Ross McCormack fizzed another effort wide of a post before Janko dispossessed Ryan Tunnicliffe only for Gudjohnsen to shoot straight at Bettinelli from 18 yards.

Fulham, however, were the most effective side going forward and McCormack's angled right foot attempt was pushed out of harm's way by busy Lonergan.

Five minutes from half-time Wanderers had a much more vociferous handball protest rejected as Josh Vela's goalbound drive smashed into Bulgarian Bodurov. Boss Lennon, no lover of Championship referees since his arrival from Celtic, berated the fourth official as Fulham survived.

The reprieve was a brief one as Gudjohnsen broke Bolton's league goal drought against the Londoners dating back 640 minutes to Ivan Klasnic's strike at Craven Cottage on November 28, 2009.

Janko, making his first senior appearance since United's 4-0 League Cup humiliation at MK Dons, delivered an excellent right-wing cross. Unmarked Gudjohnsen controlled the pass superbly before glancing the ball wide of Bettinelli.

Bolton started the second half equally brightly with Bettinelli pushing over Janko's cross and Le Fondre hammering another effort past the target.

He was even closer after 55 minutes, denied a first goal since his arrival, by Kostas Stafylidis' goal-line clearance.

Fulham were on the ropes and Bettinelli thwarted Le Fondre to deny Wanderers a deserved lead. But it took a Janko pile-driver to finally put Bolton in front before Le Fondre applied the coup de grace.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Watford 45 88
2 Bournemouth 44 84
3 Middlesbrough 45 84
4 Norwich City 45 83
5 Ipswich Town 45 78
6 Derby County 45 77
7 Brentford 45 75
8 Wolverhampton Wanderers 45 75
9 Blackburn Rovers 45 64
10 Charlton Athletic 45 60
11 Birmingham City 45 60
12 Nottingham Forest 45 59
13 Cardiff City 45 59
14 Sheffield Wednesday 45 59
15 Leeds United 45 55
16 Huddersfield Town 45 54
17 Fulham 45 52
18 Bolton Wanderers 44 51
19 Reading 44 47
20 Brighton and Hove Albion 45 46
21 Rotherham United 44 42
22 Millwall 45 41
23 Wigan Athletic 45 39
24 Blackpool 45 25