Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Macron Stadium (ATT 15,799) 13th September 2014 - Kick off 15:00

Bolton Bolton Wanderers vs Sheffield Wednesday Sheff Wed

Bolton 0


Sky Bet Championship: Bolton remain in bottom three after 0-0 draw with Sheffield Wednesday

Last Updated: 13/09/14 6:09pm

  • Share:
Mark Davies: Tangles with Jose Semedo

Mark Davies: Tangles with Jose Semedo

Bolton remain anchored in the bottom three and still searching for their first Sky Bet Championship victory after a dull 0-0 draw with Sheffield Wednesday at the Macron Stadium.

Stuart Gray's visitors went closest to taking all three points, twice having efforts kicked off the line, while goalkeeper Andy Lonergan was Bolton's man of the match.

Despite a plethora of shots, however, few were of the quality needed to beat Lonergan - deputising for injured Hungarian international Adam Bogdan.

Under pressure Dougie Freedman's Trotters offered little threat in reply, although they did manage a first clean sheet at the sixth attempt of a dismal start to the new campaign.

However, the game will not stay long in the memory and unsurprisingly boos rang out at both half and full-time, noticeably from the home contingent. .

Stevie May did get the ball in the net from top scorer Atdhe Nuhiu's knockdown after 19 minutes. Despite a huge roar from Wednesday's 3,023 away following, referee Andy Haines had blown for a foul against the giant Austrian.

Wednesday then carved out the first legitimate chances as Wanderers' central defenders missed a long hopeful cross from the home right. The ball fell invitingly for unmarked Maguire, whose first shot was hacked off the line by Matt Mills before a second drifted wide of the post.

Wanderers created nothing in retaliation to trouble Keiren Westwood, with lone striker Joe Mason well shackled by the Wednesday rearguard.

Left-back Dean Moxey, back in the Bolton team for the first time since a nightmare debut at Watford on the opening day of the season, collected the game's first yellow card for a clumsy challenge on Jose Semedo.

Nuhiu appealed for a penalty as a dreadful opening 45 minutes meandered to a soporific conclusion - he received an admonishing finger wag from Lonergan while Haines rejected his claim.

Wednesday, however, looked best equipped to break the deadlock. Joe Mattock, who scored a spectacular goal against Wanderers at Hillsborough last April, headed over from Maguire's corner before skipper Jay Spearing lashed in Bolton's first and only shot on target after 56 minutes - it was comfortably gathered by Westwood.

Royston Drenthe's introduction for Maguire on the hour livened up Wednesday and they were unlucky not to go in front soon after. Jacques Maghoma dispossessed on-loan debutant Owen Garvan and played in Nuhiu, whose angled left foot shot was blocked by Lonergan.

Moxey was fortunate not to receive a second yellow for hacking down Drenthe, much to the fury of the Wednesday coaching staff.

Bolton made a double change of their own after 65 minutes, including Jermaine Beckford, whose arrival was jeered by home fans for his salutes of acknowledgement to Leeds supporters at Elland Road in the Trotters' last game before the international break.

May tried his luck from distance as Wednesday searched for a deserved winner and then steered another 83rd minute effort wide as the Owls continued to pepper Lonergan's goal.

Liam Palmer was left frustrated by a late Lonergan save while Moxey came to the rescue with an even later goal-line clearance from a Tom Lees header as Wednesday were denied a third Championship victory.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 27 51
2 Middlesbrough 27 50
3 Ipswich Town 27 50
4 Brentford 27 49
5 Derby County 26 48
6 Watford 27 47
7 Wolverhampton Wanderers 27 44
8 Norwich City 27 43
9 Sheffield Wednesday 26 37
10 Blackburn Rovers 26 36
11 Birmingham City 26 35
12 Nottingham Forest 27 34
13 Cardiff City 27 34
14 Fulham 27 34
15 Huddersfield Town 27 34
16 Bolton Wanderers 26 33
17 Charlton Athletic 27 32
18 Reading 26 30
19 Brighton and Hove Albion 27 29
20 Leeds United 27 29
21 Rotherham United 26 26
22 Millwall 26 23
23 Wigan Athletic 27 21
24 Blackpool 27 17