Select a Team

Scottish Premiership

Firhill Stadium (ATT 4,390) 10th May 2014 - Kick off 12:15

Partick Partick Thistle vs Ross County Ross Co

Partick 2

L Taylor (51)
G Moncur (73)


Ross Co 3

J Slew (22)
Y Arquin (48)
M De Leeuw (77)

Scottish Premiership: Ross County sign off with win at Partick Thistle

Last Updated: 10/05/14 3:24pm

  • Share:
Kallum Higginbotham and Graham Carey: Tussle for possession

Kallum Higginbotham and Graham Carey: Tussle for possession

Substitute Melvin De Leuw claimed the winner as Ross County finished their Premiership campaign with a 3-2 victory over Partick Thistle in an entertaining encounter at Firhill.

Jordan Slew and Yoann Arquin had put County 2-0 up before Lyle Taylor and George Moncour brought Thistle level but De Leuw's deflected effort won the day and ensured County finished in seventh.

There was some good early play between Chris Erskine and Kallum Higginbotham before the former fired the ball across the face of goal but Taylor could not connect.

Slew surged through the Thistle defence and shot narrowly wide but moments later the County striker - on loan from Blackburn Rovers - beat the offside trap and slotted his first goal for County past Scott Fox (22).

The Thistle goalkeeper was under pressure again from Slew as he tried to punch clear and fell awkwardly. After a a lengthy delay he was replaced by Paul Gallacher.

Conrad Balatoni went close for Thistle before Arquin (48) rose completely unmarked at the far post to plant his header past the substitute keeper.

A great cross from Chris Elliott allowed Taylor (51) to rise and head home for Thistle and Higginbotham then went close as the home side gathered momentum.

Mark Brown pulled off an excellent save from Steven Lawless' shot after good work by Higginbotham but the leveller did arrive when Taylor cleverly set up George Moncour (73) to slot home from 16 yards.

De Leeuw then worked some space in the Thistle box (77) and his left-foot shot deflected off Balatoni to give Gallacher no chance and seal the win.

  • Share:



Scottish Premiership

Scottish Premiership
Pos Team P Pts
1 Celtic 28 66
2 Aberdeen 29 61
3 Inverness CT 29 53
4 Dundee United 28 46
5 St Johnstone 30 44
6 Hamilton Academical 31 42
7 Dundee 29 40
8 Kilmarnock 30 38
9 Partick Thistle 30 34
10 Ross County 30 28
11 Motherwell 30 25
12 St Mirren 30 21