Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

La Rosaleda (ATT 19,826) 1st March 2014 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: A Undiano Mallenco

Malaga Malaga vs Real Valladolid Valladolid

Malaga 1

R Santa Cruz (13)


Valladolid 1

D Larsson (30)

Duo settle for stalemate

Last Updated: 01/03/14 5:52pm

  • Share:
Roque Santa Cruz: Gave Malaga the lead

Roque Santa Cruz: Gave Malaga the lead

Malaga and Real Valladolid had to settle for a point apiece from their relegation battle which left both sides with plenty of work still to do to avoid the drop.

Roque Santa Cruz put Malaga ahead after 13 minutes, but Daniel Larsson levelled for the visitors after half an hour.

The result kept Malaga three points ahead of their opponents in the fight for survival, but this was a match they would have been looking to win to pull further clear of the bottom three.

The hosts started strongly, Santa Cruz heading their first chance over, while at the other end Sacha Iakovenko's shot from 20 yards was parried by Diego Marino.

The visiting keeper did even better to turn a Nordin Amrabat shot round a post, but was beaten minutes later as Santa Cruz met a Duda corner and directed his header high into the corner of the net.

Valladolid finally threatened through a Javi Guerra head which went wide, but they were almost undone again from another Duda corner, only for Sergio Sanchez Ortega to fail to get a clean contact on his header and send the ball wide.

The visitors levelled after 30 minutes when Larsson headed home an Antonio Rukavina cross.

Malaga continued to waste chances in the second half, Santa Cruz twice heading wide from good positions.

But it was Valladolid who almost went in front 10 minutes from time as Oscar's shot crashed back off the bar.

And the visitors nearly snatched the points in injury time when Guerra's close-range effort was tipped away by Willy Caballero.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 32 78
2 Real Madrid 32 76
3 Atletico Madrid 32 69
4 Valencia 32 65
5 Sevilla 32 63
6 Villarreal 32 52
7 Malaga 32 46
8 Athletic Bilbao 33 46
9 Celta Vigo 32 42
10 Espanyol 32 42
11 Rayo Vallecano 32 41
12 Real Sociedad 32 38
13 Getafe 32 36
14 Elche 32 34
15 Eibar 32 31
16 Levante 32 29
17 Almeria 32 28
18 Deportivo La Coruna 32 28
19 Granada 32 25
20 Cordoba 33 20