Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

El Madrigal (ATT 14,195) 15th February 2014 - Kick off 21:00 Ref: D Fernandez Borbalan

Villarreal Villarreal vs Celta Vigo Celta Vigo


Celta Vigo 2

F Orellana (83)
Nolito (90)

Sky Sports 1 HD

Abandoned - due to crowd trouble

Celta Vigo win after break

Last Updated: 16/02/14 9:57am

  • Share:
Play is stopped on Saturday night

Play is stopped on Saturday night

Late goals from Fabian Orellana and Nolito handed Celta Vigo an unlikely 2-0 victory at Villarreal in a Primera Division clash marred by a serious incident which led to the match being suspended for over 20 minutes.

Orellana had just headed Celta into the lead late in the second half when what appeared to be a smoke bomb was thrown on to the pitch, forcing the referee to take the players from the pitch and leading to most of the supporters leaving the stands.

It led to a lengthy stoppage - and considerable confusion as at one stage it seemed the match would not continue - but eventually the players re-emerged and the four remaining minutes were played, enough time for Nolito to add a second and barely deserved goal for the visitors.

The home side were utterly dominant in the first period but could not find a way through.

Bruno got an early wayward shot away but chances were scarce until Mario volleyed wide midway through the half.

Giovani Dos Santos had two decent chances, a strike from the edge of the box which was held by visiting goalkeeper Yoel and a left-foot shot from inside the area which went wide, while Jeremy Perbet was similarly frustrated.

The game opened up a little after half-time with Celta coming into things more, but it was the hosts who created the half's first opportunity.

Bruno got on the end of a corner from Dos Santos but could not keep his header down.

Santi Mina finally had the visitors' first effort of note four minutes into the second period but his curling effort from 20 yards went wide of the left-hand upright.

Manu Trigueros fired over for Villarreal and Augusto Fernandez went wide left at the other end, before Yoel was again called into action.

The Celta stopper was on hand to parry Bruno's effort in the 55th minute before opposite number Juan Carlos held an effort from Santi Mina just after the hour mark.

Yoel again frustrated the hosts when he blocked a close-range effort from Moi Gomez, then he turned a long-range effort from Tomas Pina behind for a corner.

After 80 minutes Yoel denied Perbet and the goalkeeper was rewarded for his efforts when his side, out of nowhere, took the lead.

The goal came from a set-piece after Gomez fouled Nolito. Alex Lopez sent in the free-kick and Orellana flicked a header home.

Soon after play was halted as a canister thrown from the crown spewed out what appeared to be smoke, with the referee taking the players from the field and fans streaming out of the stadium with many holding their noses and mouths.

Play was halted for nearly half an hour, but when it did eventually get back under way it got worse for Villarreal as Nolito curled home a free-kick from the edge of the box to seal the points for Celta, dealing a serious blow to the Yellow Submarine's hopes of Champions League qualification.

Villarreal president Fernando Roig condemned the action and apologised on behalf of the club.

In comments reported on the Villarreal website, he said: "Villarreal deplores and condemns what happened. We are convinced that this is a person who is outside of Villarreal and has specifically come to harm the club.

"We are making all appropriate inquiries and hope to be able to identify as soon as possible to the perpetrator and come down on him with the full weight of the law.

"Such acts do not represent the fans of Villarreal. In any case, the club wants to apologise and to acknowledge the work of the security forces in the evacuation.''

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 35 87
2 Real Madrid 35 85
3 Atletico Madrid 35 76
4 Valencia 35 72
5 Sevilla 35 69
6 Villarreal 35 54
7 Athletic Bilbao 35 48
8 Malaga 35 47
9 Celta Vigo 35 46
10 Espanyol 35 46
11 Real Sociedad 35 43
12 Rayo Vallecano 35 43
13 Elche 35 40
14 Getafe 35 36
15 Levante 35 35
16 Almeria 35 32
17 Eibar 35 31
18 Deportivo La Coruna 35 30
19 Granada 35 28
20 Cordoba 35 20