Select a Team

German Bundesliga

Weserstadion (ATT 40,435) 3rd November 2013 - Kick off 16:30 Ref: T Kinhofer

W Bremen Werder Bremen vs Hannover 96 Hannover

W Bremen 3

A Hunt (pen 25)
C Makiadi (38)
S Garcia (86)


Hannover 2

S Huszti (pen 20)
H Sakai (41)

Late winner for Werder

Last Updated: 03/11/13 7:52pm

  • Share:
Lars Stindl takes a tumble.

Lars Stindl takes a tumble.

A late goal from Santiago Garcia secured a 3-2 win for Werder Bremen against Hannover on Sunday evening.

The former Palermo defender struck in the 86th minute of an entertaining encounter in which four other goals fell in the first half.

Szabolcs Huszti gave the visitors the lead with a 20th-minute penalty only for Aaron Hunt to respond with a penalty of his own.

Cedrick Makiadi then handed Bremen the lead for the first time seven minutes before half-time but Hiroki Sakai's brilliant long-range strike restored parity before Garcia made it 3-2 late on.

After a tame start, the game was sparked into life when Clemens Fritz fouled Huszti in the penalty and the Hungarian made no mistake from the spot.

Not long after, Bremen had a penalty of their own when Eljero Elia's trickery was too much for Salif Sane and Hunt netted his first goal of the season from 12 yards.

Bremen took the lead for the first time when Zlatko Junuzovic's shot turned into an assist for Makiadi, who was alone at the far post to nod in from a yard out.

The hosts' advantage lasted only two minutes, though, before Sakai let rip from nearly 30 yards, sending in a shot which dipped just above Sebastian Mielitz's hand and hit the underside of the crossbar on its way in.

Bremen appeared stronger in the second half with a few Hunt free-kicks testing Hannover goalkeeper Ron-Robert Zieler, but debutant Deniz Kadah missed two good chances with his head to give the visitors the lead again.

In the end, it was Garcia who grabbed the winner, scoring at the second attempt after his header from Hunt's free-kick was saved by Zieler.

  • Share:



German Bundesliga

German Bundesliga
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bayern Munich 30 76
2 Wolfsburg 30 61
3 Borussia Monchengladbach 30 57
4 Bayer Leverkusen 30 55
5 Schalke 30 42
6 FC Augsburg 30 42
7 Hoffenheim 30 40
8 Borussia Dortmund 30 39
9 Werder Bremen 30 39
10 Mainz 30 37
11 Eintracht Frankfurt 30 36
12 Cologne 30 35
13 Hertha Berlin 30 34
14 SC Freiburg 30 30
15 Hannover 96 30 29
16 Hamburg 30 28
17 SC Paderborn 07 30 28
18 Stuttgart 30 27