Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Balaidos (ATT 7,000) 21st October 2013 - Kick off 19:00 Ref: A Alvarez Izquierdo

Celta Vigo Celta Vigo vs Levante Levante


Levante 1

P Diop (89)

Celta made to pay by Levante

Last Updated: 21/10/13 9:48pm

  • Share:
Papakouli Diop: Scored the game's only goal

Papakouli Diop: Scored the game's only goal

Celta Vigo squandered a series of chances and failed to climb away from the bottom three in the Primera Division as they were beaten 1-0 by Levante at Estadio Balaidos.

A floodlight failure at the start of the second half delayed proceedings by about 20 minutes but it did not dim Celta's attack, who forged a number of scoring opportunities which were each wasted in turn.

Papakouli Diop then made Celta pay for their lack of a clinical finish when he snatched an 89th-minute winner to claim what had seemed an unlikely three points for the visitors.

Celta's first chance came through Santiago Mina in the 16th minute when he forced a brilliant save from Levante goalkeeper Keylor Navas before Nolito curled a shot just wide of the post.

Michael Krohn-Dehli then put a powerful effort wide as Celta could have arguably been 3-0 up in the opening half an hour.

Toni tested Navas again shortly before the break but the Levante stopper ensured it remained goalless at the break.

The match was then thrown into doubt at the start of the second half as a power cut threatened to cause its postponement, however the game resumed, and Celta picked up where they had left off.

Mina fired a shot high and wide before Charles lacked direction with his strike and substitute Fabian Orellana wasted another clear-cut chance as he also sent the ball wide.

It was then that Levante struck, totally against the run of play, when Diop volleyed home from 25 yards.

Levante had four minutes of added time to see out but they did so despite Rafinha's best efforts with a testing cross to claim an unlikely win.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 33 81
2 Real Madrid 33 79
3 Atletico Madrid 33 72
4 Sevilla 33 66
5 Valencia 32 65
6 Villarreal 33 53
7 Malaga 33 47
8 Athletic Bilbao 33 46
9 Celta Vigo 33 42
10 Espanyol 33 42
11 Rayo Vallecano 33 41
12 Real Sociedad 33 39
13 Getafe 33 36
14 Elche 33 34
15 Levante 33 32
16 Eibar 33 31
17 Almeria 33 31
18 Deportivo La Coruna 33 29
19 Granada 32 25
20 Cordoba 33 20