Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Coliseum Alfonso Perez (ATT 6,000) 26th September 2013 - Kick off 21:00 Ref: J Gonzalez Gonzalez

Getafe Getafe vs Celta Vigo Celta Vigo

Getafe 2

L Lopez (45)
A Arroyo (51)


Getafe defeat Celta Vigo

Last Updated: 27/09/13 7:13am

  • Share:
Rafinha in action for Celta Vigo.

Rafinha in action for Celta Vigo.

Getafe leapfrogged their opponents as they beat Celta Vigo 2-0 in the Primera Division on Thursday night.

Lisandro Lopez and Alvaro Arroyo scored in a six-minute spell either side of half time as the home side moved a point clear of their visitors in the table.

Celta have now gone four games without a win and remain with just a single victory this term.

David Rodriguez had the first effort on goal for Celta but Miguel Moya in the home goal was equal to it.

The visitors suffered a blow in the 18th minute as Carlos Bellvis was forced off with an injury and replaced by Jonny Castro.

But they still looked the more threatening as Dane Michael Krohn-Dehli brought another save out of Moya with a 25-yard free kick.

Pablo Sarabia had Getafe's first meaningful attack as the half-hour approached and he should have done better as he fired wide from eight yards.

The visitors were still applying the more pressure as Barcelona loanee Rafa Alcantara shot wide before Roberto Lago blazed over the bar down the other end.

Celta may have had the better of the first half but it was the home side who took the lead as Pedro Leon's corner was met by Lopez who headed home from six yards in the 44th minute.

Alexis Ruano put a close-range header wide early in the second half and Celta were made to pay as Getafe doubled their lead in the 51st minute.

Lopez provided a flick across goal and Arroyo met it with a header of his own to beat Moya.

Celta provided some pressure as they fought to get back in it but Getafe held out for a comfortable win.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Real Madrid 15 39
2 Barcelona 16 38
3 Atletico Madrid 16 35
4 Valencia 16 31
5 Villarreal 16 30
6 Sevilla 15 30
7 Malaga 16 30
8 Celta Vigo 16 20
9 Eibar 16 20
10 Espanyol 16 20
11 Athletic Bilbao 16 19
12 Getafe 16 17
13 Rayo Vallecano 16 17
14 Real Sociedad 16 15
15 Levante 16 15
16 Almeria 16 13
17 Deportivo La Coruna 16 13
18 Granada 16 13
19 Cordoba 16 11
20 Elche 16 10