Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Coliseum Alfonso Perez (ATT 8,000) 11th May 2014 - Kick off 18:00 Ref: E Fernandez

Getafe Getafe vs Sevilla Sevilla

Getafe 1

S Escudero (70)


Narrow win for Getafe

Last Updated: 11/05/14 8:29pm

  • Share:
Ciprian Marica falls to the ground

Ciprian Marica falls to the ground

Getafe took advantage of a weakened Sevilla side to claim a vital 1-0 victory in their fight against relegation from the Primera Division.

With Wednesday's Europa League final against Benfica on their mind, Sevilla rested many of their first-choice players.

Sergio Escudero's 70th-minute goal gave Getafe a 1-0 victory to help them climb three points clear of the relegation zone with one match to play.

The hosts began brightly, piling the pressure on Javi Varas' goal, and they might have taken the lead in the 12th minute.

Federico Fazio picked up a yellow card for a foul on Ciprian Marica and Jaime Gavilan swung in a free-kick that was headed past the post by Juan Valera.

Getafe were being frustrated by Sevilla, though, and were struggling to create clear-cut opportunities.

Angel Lafita had a good one in the 35th minute but Varas came to his side's rescue.

Sevilla were offering almost nothing in the way of attacking threat and on the hour mark it was Escudero who tried his luck with a shot from the right that was easily stopped by Varas.

They were getting closer, though, and three minutes later the woodwork intervened when Pedro Leon's header hit the bar.

In the 70th minute Getafe finally made the breakthrough, Mehdi Lacen setting up Escudero for a fine finish into the top corner from outside the box.

And, far from weathering a Sevilla fightback, it was Getafe who looked the more likely to add a second, Valera and Lacen missing late chances.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Real Madrid 11 27
2 Barcelona 11 25
3 Valencia 11 24
4 Atletico Madrid 11 23
5 Sevilla 11 23
6 Malaga 11 21
7 Celta Vigo 11 20
8 Villarreal 11 15
9 Athletic Bilbao 12 15
10 Getafe 11 14
11 Eibar 11 13
12 Espanyol 12 11
13 Rayo Vallecano 11 11
14 Granada 11 10
15 Real Sociedad 11 9
16 Almeria 11 9
17 Deportivo La Coruna 11 9
18 Elche 11 9
19 Levante 11 9
20 Cordoba 11 6