Select a Team

Sky Bet League 1

Brunton Park (ATT 4,389) 18th April 2014 - Kick off 15:00

Carlisle Carlisle United vs Walsall Walsall

Carlisle 1

L Noble (13)


Walsall 1

M Ngoo (82)

Ngoo denies Cumbrians

Last Updated: 18/04/14 6:08pm

  • Share:
Liam Noble: Opened the scoring

Liam Noble: Opened the scoring

A late header by Michael Ngoo denied Carlisle three points in their relegation battle and earned Walsall a 1-1 draw at Brunton Park.

Liam Noble had given Carlisle a first-half lead, but Walsall had the home side under pressure for large parts of the second half.

Walsall gave the Carlisle defence one or two uncomfortable moments in the first half, notably when skipper Andy Butler got in a powerful far-post header from James Baxendale's free-kick from the left. Goalkeeper Jordan Pickford had to spring across his line to pull off a fine one-handed save.

However, it was Noble who fired Carlisle in front in the 13th minute after Gary Madine had provided the pass. The midfielder hit a snap shot from the edge of the area which struck the right-hand post then rebounded back into the net behind the diving Richard O'Donnell.

Brad Potts was inches away from doubling Carlisle's advantage with a first-time right-foot effort which hit the bar.

Again Pickford was to the rescue for Carlisle, getting a vital touch on Romaine Sawyers' shot from a tight angle to divert the ball across the face of goal for a corner, then Sam Manton lashed a shot through a crowded penalty area only to see the ball cannon back off the left-hand post.

Noble was denied a second goal when he hammered a 25-yard shot against the bar before the Saddlers got the goal they deserved in the 82nd minute, substitute Ngoo heading home Kieron Morris' corner from the left.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 1

Sky Bet League 1
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bristol City 34 73
2 Preston North End 33 63
3 Milton Keynes Dons 34 62
4 Swindon Town 34 61
5 Sheffield United 33 53
6 Doncaster Rovers 34 49
7 Chesterfield 34 48
8 Bradford City 33 48
9 Peterborough United 34 47
10 Barnsley 34 47
11 Oldham Athletic 33 46
12 Gillingham 34 45
13 Port Vale 34 45
14 Fleetwood Town 34 45
15 Rochdale 32 44
16 Walsall 34 44
17 Scunthorpe United 33 42
18 Notts County 33 41
19 Crewe Alexandra 34 39
20 Coventry City 33 36
21 Leyton Orient 33 35
22 Colchester United 34 34
23 Crawley Town 34 34
24 Yeovil Town 34 30