Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Goldsands Stadium 18th April 2014 - Kick off 15:00

Bournemth Bournemouth vs Sheffield Wednesday Sheff Wed

Championship: Bournemouth v Sheffield Wednesday team news

Last Updated: 17/04/14 4:20pm

  • Share:
Lewis Grabban: Hoping to feature for Bournemouth

Lewis Grabban: Hoping to feature for Bournemouth

Bournemouth are hopeful top scorer Lewis Grabban will be fit for Good Friday's Sky Bet Championship clash with Sheffield Wednesday at Dean Court.

The 20-goal striker left the field with 22 minutes remaining against Yeovil last Saturday as the Cherries' busy fixture list caught up with him. Grabban has been rested this week and Eddie Howe is optimistic he can line up against the Owls.

With the trip to Ipswich on Monday Howe admits he will consider rotating his squad with the likes of Adam Smith and Marc Pugh likely to come into contention but Harry Arter will not be involved as he serves the final match of his three-game ban.

The Cherries head into Friday's clash two points off a Championship play-off spot.

Sheffield Wednesday defender Glenn Loovens and striker Leon Best will return to contention for the game.

Centre-half Loovens has missed the last two games due to a hamstring injury but returned to full training this week, while Best, on loan from Blackburn, was ineligible to play against his parent club last week.

Sam Hutchinson, on loan from Chelsea, has fully recovered from his recent illness and is expected to resume as the Owls chase their first win in five matches.

Fellow midfielder Jose Semedo is hoping to feature before the end of the season after fracturing his fibula and damaging ankle ligaments in February.

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 42 90
2 Burnley 42 83
3 Derby County 42 75
4 Queens Park Rangers 42 73
5 Wigan Athletic 41 67
6 Reading 42 64
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 42 64
8 Ipswich Town 42 64
9 Bournemouth 42 62
10 Blackburn Rovers 42 60
11 Nottingham Forest 42 59
12 Middlesbrough 42 58
13 Watford 41 57
14 Bolton Wanderers 42 54
15 Sheffield Wednesday 42 50
16 Leeds United 42 50
17 Huddersfield Town 42 46
18 Birmingham City 41 43
19 Doncaster Rovers 42 43
20 Blackpool 42 42
21 Charlton Athletic 41 41
22 Millwall 42 40
23 Barnsley 42 39
24 Yeovil Town 42 36