Select a Team

Scottish League One

Ibrox Stadium (ATT 41,343) 12th March 2014 - Kick off 19:45

Rangers Rangers vs Airdrieonians Airdrie

Rangers 3

L McCulloch (pen 3, pen 21, 41)


Airdrie 0

Scottish football: Lee McCulloch's hat-trick secures League One title for Rangers

Last Updated: 13/03/14 10:10am

  • Share:
Lee McCulloch: Secured promotion with a first-half hat-trick

Lee McCulloch: Secured promotion with a first-half hat-trick

Rangers were crowned as Scottish League One champions after Lee McCulloch's hat-trick set the scene for a triumphant 3-0 win over Airdrie.

McCulloch completed his treble inside the first half, which included two penalties, as the runaway leaders secured the title with eight games to spare.

Gers manager Ally McCoist had steered his side to a second straight promotion and McCulloch, a reliable performer during some troubled times, was a fitting hero at Ibrox.

The party planning started in the third minute as Grant Adam's mistimed lunge on Andrew Little was punished by McCulloch's fierce penalty.

Airdrie were doing little to spoil the mood and Jon Daly sent a header wide before the Gers received a second spot-kick.

Gregor Buchanan brought down Andrew Templeton in the box and the nerveless McCulloch (21) calmly slotted the ball past Adam.

Captain McCulloch was leading his side to promotion and the veteran completed his treble with a composed finish (41) after being picked out by Nicky Law.

Only desperate defending denied McCulloch a second-half fourth, his shot striking an opponent, and Lee Wallace then drove the ball into Adam's legs.

Bilel Mohsni lashed against the post before dragging the rebound wide as Rangers failed to relent, but home keeper Cammy Bell had some brief work when he smothered James Lister's shot.

Substitute Nicky Clark sent a late drive inches past the post, but the hosts had done enough and could toast an unbeaten run to the title.

  • Share:


  • Scottish League One

    Wed 12th Mar


Scottish League One

Scottish League One
Pos Team P Pts
1 Stranraer 34 64
2 Morton 34 63
3 Forfar Athletic 34 63
4 Brechin City 34 58
5 Airdrieonians 34 52
6 Peterhead 34 51
7 Dunfermline Athletic 34 48
8 Stenhousemuir 34 28
9 Ayr United 34 28
10 Stirling Albion 34 17