Select a Team

Sky Bet League 2

The Crown Ground (ATT 1,196) 11th March 2014 - Kick off 19:45

Accrington Accrington Stanley vs Hartlepool United Hartlepool

Accrington v Hartlepool preview

Last Updated: 15/03/14 3:59pm

  • Share:
Peter Murphy: Banned for the clash

Peter Murphy: Banned for the clash

Team news for Tuesday's League Two clash between Accrington Stanley and Hartlepool United at Crown Ground.

Peter Murphy will miss out when Accrington host Hartlepool at the Store First Stadium.

The defender was sent off during Stanley's stunning 3-1 win over Chesterfield for two yellow cards and will serve a one-match suspension.

He joins full-back Nicky Hunt on the sidelines with the ex-Bolton defender completing his own two-match ban. Adam Buxton could continue after impressing on debut following his loan arrival from Wigan, although he complained of feeling stiffness in his calves due to a lack of match practice in the aftermath.

Boss James Beattie must also hope the illness bug which cost him defender Michael Liddle and strike duo Kal Naismith and Shay McCartan eases before the game. Midfielder Piero Mingoia dislocated his shoulder in training last week while striker Marcus Carver (shin) is recovering following surgery.

Hartlepool manager Colin Cooper should name his starting line-up at Accrington from an unchanged squad.

Cooper has no new injury or suspension worries as his side look to bounce back from Saturday's defeat at Wycombe, but defenders Neil Austin (foot) and Michael Duckworth (leg) remain sidelined.

The Pools boss could be tempted to make one or two changes, with midfielders Jonathan Franks, Antony Sweeney and Jack Compton, plus strikers James Poole and Nialle Rodney all pushing for recalls.

Pools, who remain five points adrift of a play-off place, have won only one of their last six league games on the road.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 2

Sky Bet League 2
Pos Team P Pts
1 Wycombe Wanderers 21 42
2 Shrewsbury Town 21 40
3 Luton Town 21 40
4 Burton Albion 22 40
5 Plymouth Argyle 21 37
6 Southend United 21 35
7 Newport County AFC 21 34
8 Exeter City 22 34
9 Bury 21 31
10 Morecambe 21 30
11 Accrington Stanley 21 30
12 Cambridge United 21 29
13 Stevenage 21 28
14 Portsmouth 21 27
15 AFC Wimbledon 21 27
16 Mansfield Town 21 26
17 Oxford United 21 25
18 Cheltenham Town 21 25
19 Northampton Town 21 24
20 Dagenham & Redbridge 21 21
21 Carlisle United 21 21
22 York City 21 20
23 Tranmere Rovers 21 19
24 Hartlepool United 21 13