Select a Team

Sky Bet League 2

Glanford Park (ATT 3,005) 27th January 2014 - Kick off 19:45

Scunthorpe Scunthorpe United vs Fleetwood Town Fleetwood


Sky Sports 1 HD

Sky Bet League Two: Scunthorpe stay top after 0-0 draw with Fleetwood

Last Updated: 28/01/14 8:09am

  • Share:

Sam Slocombe's second-half penalty save kept Scunthorpe at the top of Sky Bet League Two after a 0-0 draw with Fleetwood at Glanford Park.

The point was enough to keep Iron at the summit and stretched their unbeaten run to 12 games.

But for long spells they played second fiddle as the visitors controlled midfield to boss the game.

Fleetwood looked confident from the start with midfielder David Bell going close with an early effort.

Stewart Murdoch also had a fierce shot cannon to safety off Scunthorpe full-back Marcus Williams.

Yet it was Scunthorpe who carved out the best chance of the first half when Paul Hayes lifted a ball over the top of the Fleetwood defence for leading goalscorer Sam Winnall, who tried his luck with a terrific dipping shot on the run which was brilliantly turned over by goalkeeper Scott Davies.

It was still Fleetwood firmly in the driving seat at the start of the second half, but for all their pressure they failed to carve out a single chance in front of goal.

They did have a great chance to go in front in the 61st minute when referee Scott Duncan pointed controversially to the spot when Charlie Taylor went down just inside the box under challenge from Scunthorpe winger Terry Hawkridge.

But goalkeeper Slocombe rescued Scunthorpe, brilliantly turning away the penalty from Steven Schumacher.

Slocombe was his side's saviour again a few moments later, beating away an angled drive from substitute Antoni Sarcevic.

Scunthorpe's best second-half effort came late on from substitute Paddy Madden with a long-range shot that Davies did well to save.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 2

Sky Bet League 2
Pos Team P Pts
1 Burton Albion 33 64
2 Shrewsbury Town 32 61
3 Wycombe Wanderers 32 59
4 Luton Town 32 55
5 Southend United 32 54
6 Plymouth Argyle 32 52
7 Bury 32 52
8 Newport County AFC 32 50
9 Stevenage 32 48
10 AFC Wimbledon 32 45
11 Northampton Town 32 44
12 Morecambe 32 44
13 Portsmouth 32 43
14 Exeter City 33 43
15 Accrington Stanley 32 43
16 Cambridge United 32 38
17 Oxford United 32 37
18 Dagenham & Redbridge 32 37
19 Mansfield Town 32 35
20 Tranmere Rovers 32 34
21 Carlisle United 32 33
22 York City 32 32
23 Cheltenham Town 32 31
24 Hartlepool United 32 24