Select a Team

Sky Bet League 1

Greenhous Meadow (ATT 5,215) 5th October 2013 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: Andy Madley

Shrewsbury Shrewsbury Town vs Carlisle United Carlisle

Shrewsbury 2

T Bradshaw (40)
P Parry (90+1)


Carlisle 2

D Amoo (87)
S O'Hanlon (90)

Shrewsbury v Carlisle preview

Last Updated: 07/10/13 11:32am

  • Share:
Jon Taylor: Back after suspension

Jon Taylor: Back after suspension

Team news for Saturday's League One clash between Shrewsbury and Carlisle at New Meadow.

The Shrews are boosted by the return of midfielders Jon Taylor and Paul Parry for the visit of the Cumbrians.

Taylor is available for selection after serving a one-match suspension, while former Cardiff man Parry has overcome a hip problem.

Tamika Mkandawire, a late substitute at Bradford last weekend after returning to the squad following a hamstring problem, played for the reserves in midweek and is likely to return to Graham Turner's defence in place of Dave Winfield, who is banned.

John Marsden also made a comeback from a broken bone in his foot in the reserves and could be promoted to the first-team squad, but loanees Curtis Main and Graham Burke have this week returned to Middlesbrough and Aston Villa respectively.

Carlisle striker Lewis Guy is hoping to recover from illness in time to be included in the squad.

The Cumbrians will again be without fellow forward Lee Miller due to a torn calf muscle, so Mark Beck is expected to start again with Guy also in contention if he is fit.

Troy Archibald-Henville will not be included as he has returned to parent club Swindon. The defender has aggravated a knee problem and is awaiting the results of a scan, which will have a major bearing on boss Graham Kavanagh's continued interest.

Kavanagh takes charge of his first game as permanent manager having steered the Cumbrians to three straight win as caretaker boss.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 1

Sky Bet League 1
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bristol City 32 67
2 Milton Keynes Dons 32 62
3 Swindon Town 32 60
4 Preston North End 31 59
5 Sheffield United 31 52
6 Bradford City 31 45
7 Doncaster Rovers 32 45
8 Fleetwood Town 32 44
9 Oldham Athletic 31 43
10 Chesterfield 32 42
11 Gillingham 32 42
12 Port Vale 32 42
13 Rochdale 30 41
14 Walsall 32 41
15 Peterborough United 32 41
16 Barnsley 32 41
17 Scunthorpe United 31 40
18 Notts County 31 38
19 Crewe Alexandra 32 38
20 Colchester United 32 34
21 Coventry City 31 33
22 Crawley Town 32 33
23 Leyton Orient 31 32
24 Yeovil Town 32 29