Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Turf Moor (ATT 19,125) 21st April 2014 - Kick off 15:00

Burnley Burnley vs Wigan Athletic Wigan

Burnley 2

A Barnes (22)
M Kightly (42)


Sky Bet Championship: Burnley win promotion to the Premier League with a 2-0 win over Wigan

Last Updated: 21/04/14 7:20pm

  • Share:
Burnley: Celebrate Ashley Barnes' 22nd-minute volley

Burnley: Celebrate Ashley Barnes' 22nd-minute volley

Burnley returned to the Premier League after a four-year absence after beating Wigan 2-0 at Turf Moor on Easter Monday to claim the second automatic promotion spot.

Goals from Ashley Barnes (22) and Michael Kightly (42) earned the crucial victory, which meant third-placed Derby could not catch the men from Turf Moor.

The Clarets knew before kick-off that victory would see them bounce back into the top flight, having been outside the elite since their 2010 relegation.

And they were taking no chances, starting the game brightly with Barnes and Kightly handing the hosts a comfortable lead - the latter with his second goal in as many games.

Wigan improved after the break but the outcome was never in doubt and Burnley's fans were left to celebrate, invading the pitch, as their team guaranteed a top-two finish.

The Clarets started brightly and after just two minutes Barnes attempted to slip Danny Ings in behind the Wigan defence, only for goalkeeper Ali Al-Habsi to beat the striker to the ball.

Burnley, urged forward by the relentless home crowd, attacked again after 16 minutes as Kightly burst down the right channel before firing in a low cross towards Scott Arfield, only for a fine block from James Perch to cut the ball out.

But the pressure told in the 22nd minute as the deadlock was broken. Dean Marney's first-time cross found Barnes who volleyed the ball home from six yards for his third goal in Burnley colours.

Six minutes later the pair almost linked up again but a save from Al-Habsi prevented Barnes from doubling the lead.

Despite the pressure, the visitors almost levelled after 32 minutes with their first meaningful effort, Marc-Antoine Fortune heading Jordi Gomez's free-kick against the bar before Emmerson Boyce lashed over the rebound.

Burnley went 2-0 up in the 42nd minute as Kightly's free-kick from the left side of the box evaded everyone and flew into the corner off Al-Habsi's far post.

Just after the interval Wigan substitute Callum McManaman was immediately involved and did well to find space on the edge of the box but he could only shoot wide.

It was almost game over in the 49th minute as Kightly collected the ball on the halfway line and surged forward before lashing a 25-yard drive inches past Al-Habsi's far post.

The Latics refused to give up and could have got on the scoresheet through James McClean after his cross whistled past the post.

Another chance followed as a determined Fortune chased down a long ball into the Burnley box, but his effort was met by a fine save from Tom Heaton.

On the hour mark Ings went close to his 21st league goal of the campaign, the striker hitting the post from a tight angle following a composed run into the box.

Moments later Boyce should have made it 2-1 as his header from the six-yard box trickled wide.

The end-to-end action continued and in the 67th minute David Jones' 25-yard free-kick forced a fine save from Al-Habsi.

Barnes had another chance for his second 10 minutes from time, but Al-Habsi kept his 25-yard volley out, yet the margin of the victory mattered little to Burnley fans who poured onto the pitch at the final whistle.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 39 73
2 Watford 39 72
3 Middlesbrough 39 72
4 Norwich City 39 70
5 Derby County 39 67
6 Ipswich Town 39 67
7 Brentford 39 66
8 Wolverhampton Wanderers 39 65
9 Nottingham Forest 39 57
10 Blackburn Rovers 39 54
11 Charlton Athletic 39 54
12 Sheffield Wednesday 39 53
13 Leeds United 39 52
14 Cardiff City 39 51
15 Birmingham City 38 47
16 Brighton and Hove Albion 39 45
17 Bolton Wanderers 39 45
18 Huddersfield Town 39 44
19 Reading 38 44
20 Fulham 39 43
21 Rotherham United 39 40
22 Wigan Athletic 39 35
23 Millwall 39 33
24 Blackpool 39 23