Select a Team

German Bundesliga

easyCredit Stadion (ATT 37,793) 3rd February 2013 - Kick off 14:30 Ref: F Meyer

Nurnberg FC Nurnberg vs Borussia Monchengladbach M'gladbach

Nurnberg 2

T Simons (pen 4)
T Pekhart (30)


M'gladbach 1

P Herrmann (58)

Narrow win for Nurnberg

Last Updated: 03/02/13 6:36pm

  • Share:
Thorben Marx and Markus Feulner tangle.

Thorben Marx and Markus Feulner tangle.

Nurnberg claimed their first victory under new coach Michael Wiesinger at the expense of Borussia Monchengladbach to move further clear of the relegation zone.

Timmy Simons gave the hosts the lead after four minutes from a penalty and Tomas Pekhart made it 2-0 in the 30th minute.

Patrick Herrmann replied for Gladbach after 58 minutes.

Nurnberg took the lead inside five minutes from the penalty spot as Simons struck low and hard down the middle of the goal after Thorben Marx was adjudged to have hauled down Mike Frantz inside the box.

Gladbach were close to equalising four minutes later but Hiroshi Kiyotake cleared Herrmann's shot from a tight angle off the line.

Wiesinger's men doubled the advantage on the half-hour as Marx's pass was intercepted and Kiyotake found Pekhart on the left side and he struck a fine effort into the opposite corner.

Gladbach had a chance to halve the deficit in the 36th minute but Herrmann's shot was stopped well by Raphael Schafer.

The visitors did get on the scoreboard just before the hour as Tony Jantschk's long ball was flicked on by Luuk de Jong and Herrmann latched on before blasting beyond Schafer and into the left corner.

Gladbach missed an opportunity to equalise 10 minutes later as Peniel Mlapa sent his 20-yard shot just wide, while the hosts could have increased their winning margin in the 79th minute as Robert Mak was denied in a one-on-one.

  • Share:



German Bundesliga

German Bundesliga
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bayern Munich 31 76
2 Wolfsburg 31 62
3 Borussia Monchengladbach 31 60
4 Bayer Leverkusen 31 58
5 Schalke 31 45
6 FC Augsburg 31 43
7 Werder Bremen 31 42
8 Hoffenheim 31 41
9 Borussia Dortmund 31 40
10 Mainz 31 37
11 Cologne 31 36
12 Eintracht Frankfurt 31 36
13 Hertha Berlin 31 34
14 Hamburg 31 31
15 SC Paderborn 07 31 31
16 SC Freiburg 31 30
17 Hannover 96 31 30
18 Stuttgart 31 27