Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Nuevo Jose Zorilla Stadium (ATT 16,000) 17th September 2012 - Kick off 20:30 Ref: C Delgado Ferreiro

Valladolid Real Valladolid vs Real Betis Real Betis

Valladolid 0


Real Betis 1

Ruben Castro (89)

Castro seals it for Betis

Last Updated: 17/09/12 11:13pm

  • Share:
Ruben Castro: Scored the winner

Ruben Castro: Scored the winner

Ruben Castro's late goal sealed all three points for Real Betis after an evenly-matched game against Real Valladolid.

The experienced striker popped up a minute from full-time to settle a match which appeared to be heading for a goalless outcome.

The result nudges Betis ahead of their hosts into eighth place in the table on the same six-point tally, but having played three games to Valladolid's four.

Valladolid had the better of the early exchanges, Oscar volleying wide before Javi Guerra's header was saved by keeper Casto.

But Betis came back into the game, Salvador Agra flashing a 25-yard effort over the bar.

The same player was then guilty of a close-range miss, dragging a shot wide from six yards.

And Benat Etxebarria was denied from similar range by a block from defender Marc Valiente.

Ruben Perez shot wide from 12 yards and after Javi Guerra did likewise at the other end, the half ended goalless.

Oscar was again off target early in the second half before team-mate Victor Perez shot over from distance.

Alex Martinez failed to trouble Valladolid keeper Jaime but Casto was forced to parry Patrick Ebert's header from Omar Ramos' cross.

Castro drew a sharp save from Jaime before a frantic last five minutes brought chances for both teams.

Valladolid's Alberto Bueno volleyed over and Jonathan Pereira snatched at an effort for Betis.

But they grabbed the winner moments later when Castro seized possession in the penalty area and fired low past Jaime.

Ebert tried for a spectacular equaliser in stoppage time, but his long-range blast was wide of the target.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Real Madrid 15 39
2 Barcelona 15 35
3 Atletico Madrid 15 32
4 Sevilla 15 30
5 Valencia 15 28
6 Villarreal 15 27
7 Malaga 15 27
8 Celta Vigo 15 20
9 Eibar 15 20
10 Athletic Bilbao 15 19
11 Espanyol 15 17
12 Rayo Vallecano 15 17
13 Getafe 15 16
14 Real Sociedad 15 14
15 Levante 15 14
16 Deportivo La Coruna 15 13
17 Granada 15 12
18 Cordoba 15 11
19 Almeria 15 10
20 Elche 15 10