Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Mestalla (ATT 30,000) 15th September 2012 - Kick off 17:00 Ref: J Paradas Romero

Valencia Valencia vs Celta Vigo Celta Vigo

Valencia 2

S Feghouli (4)
A Cissokho (50)


Celta Vigo 1

M Krohn-Dehli (16)

Valencia off the mark

Last Updated: 15/09/12 7:48pm

  • Share:
Aly Cissokho: Netted winner for Valencia

Aly Cissokho: Netted winner for Valencia

Valencia earned their first Primera Division victory at the fourth time of asking after easing past newly-promoted Celta Vigo at the Mestalla.

Sofiane Feghouli gave Valencia an early lead and although Celta equalised soon after through Michael Krohn-Delhi, the hosts claimed the points thanks to Aly Cissokho's 50th-minute winner.

Valencia, who have finished third in each of the last three seasons, had only managed to pick up two points from a tough start to the campaign which included trips to big two Real Madrid and Barcelona.

However, they notched up a first victory today against a Celta side who have now lost three of their four matches back in the top flight.

Los Che could hardly have asked for a better start as they took the lead inside four minutes with their first chance.

Celta threatened first with a 25-yard shot from Augusto Fernandez that Diego Alves did well to tip round the post, but moments later the visitors were behind when Feghouli slotted home right-footed from inside the box.

Celta battled back and Denmark international Krohn-Delhi equalised in the 15th minute with a close-range finish from Fernandez's pass.

Both goalkeepers made key saves to keep the scores level going into the break but Valencia were again quick out of the blocks at the start of the second period to re-take the lead - this time for good.

Dani Parejo sent over a cross from the left and Cissokho's header was too good for Javi Varas in the visiting goal.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 32 78
2 Real Madrid 32 76
3 Atletico Madrid 32 69
4 Valencia 32 65
5 Sevilla 32 63
6 Villarreal 32 52
7 Malaga 32 46
8 Athletic Bilbao 32 43
9 Celta Vigo 32 42
10 Espanyol 32 42
11 Rayo Vallecano 32 41
12 Real Sociedad 32 38
13 Getafe 32 36
14 Elche 32 34
15 Eibar 32 31
16 Levante 32 29
17 Almeria 32 28
18 Deportivo La Coruna 32 28
19 Granada 32 25
20 Cordoba 32 20