Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Mestalla (ATT 30,000) 15th September 2012 - Kick off 17:00 Ref: J Paradas Romero

Valencia Valencia vs Celta Vigo Celta Vigo

Valencia 2

S Feghouli (4)
A Cissokho (50)


Celta Vigo 1

M Krohn-Dehli (16)

Valencia off the mark

Last Updated: 15/09/12 7:48pm

  • Share:
Aly Cissokho: Netted winner for Valencia

Aly Cissokho: Netted winner for Valencia

Valencia earned their first Primera Division victory at the fourth time of asking after easing past newly-promoted Celta Vigo at the Mestalla.

Sofiane Feghouli gave Valencia an early lead and although Celta equalised soon after through Michael Krohn-Delhi, the hosts claimed the points thanks to Aly Cissokho's 50th-minute winner.

Valencia, who have finished third in each of the last three seasons, had only managed to pick up two points from a tough start to the campaign which included trips to big two Real Madrid and Barcelona.

However, they notched up a first victory today against a Celta side who have now lost three of their four matches back in the top flight.

Los Che could hardly have asked for a better start as they took the lead inside four minutes with their first chance.

Celta threatened first with a 25-yard shot from Augusto Fernandez that Diego Alves did well to tip round the post, but moments later the visitors were behind when Feghouli slotted home right-footed from inside the box.

Celta battled back and Denmark international Krohn-Delhi equalised in the 15th minute with a close-range finish from Fernandez's pass.

Both goalkeepers made key saves to keep the scores level going into the break but Valencia were again quick out of the blocks at the start of the second period to re-take the lead - this time for good.

Dani Parejo sent over a cross from the left and Cissokho's header was too good for Javi Varas in the visiting goal.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 38 94
2 Real Madrid 38 92
3 Atletico Madrid 38 78
4 Valencia 38 77
5 Sevilla 38 76
6 Villarreal 38 60
7 Athletic Bilbao 38 55
8 Celta Vigo 38 51
9 Malaga 38 50
10 Espanyol 38 49
11 Rayo Vallecano 38 49
12 Real Sociedad 38 46
13 Elche 38 41
14 Levante 38 37
15 Getafe 38 37
16 Deportivo La Coruna 38 35
17 Granada 38 35
18 Eibar 38 35
19 Almeria 38 32
20 Cordoba 38 20