Select a Team

French Ligue 1

Municipal De Gerland 16th September 2012 - Kick off 16:00 Ref: Bartolomeu Varela

Lyon Lyon vs AC Ajaccio AC Ajaccio

Lyon 2

D Lovren (25)
L Lopez (74)


AC Ajaccio 0

Home comforts for Lyon

Last Updated: 16/09/12 7:42pm

  • Share:
Lisandro Lopez: Sealed the victory for Lyon

Lisandro Lopez: Sealed the victory for Lyon

Lyon maintained their perfect record at Stade Gerland this season with a routine 2-0 win over Ajaccio.

Dejan Lovren and Lisandro Lopez scored the goals as Les Gones stretched their unbeaten start to the Ligue 1 campaign to five matches.

The home side looked dominant from the first whistle and Ajaccio goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa was tested after just five minutes by Clement Grenier's half-volley.

It took them 25 minutes to break the deadlock, however, when Grenier swung in a corner which drew Ochoa off his line and allowed Lovren to nod into an empty net.

Bafetimbi Gomis then fired narrowly wide of the right post as Lyon pressed for a second, and the France striker was once more a whisker away from scoring as the interval approached when he raced through the visiting defence but missed the target by inches.

Ajaccio had barely threatened so far but they gave their opponents a scare at half-time when Remy Vercoutre's strike had to be cleared off the line by Mouhamado Dabo.

Lyon quickly regained control in the second half and Ochoa did well to palm away a shot from Ricardo Faty which was on course for the top corner.

But the Ajaccio keeper was beaten for the second time after 75 minutes. Jimmy Briand broke down the right before flicking the ball to Steed Malbranque, who in turn picked out Lopez for the Argentinian forward to side-foot home.

Lyon could have added a third nine minutes from time but Briand's volley was tipped over the bar by an agile Ochoa.

  • Share:



French Ligue 1

French Ligue 1
Pos Team P Pts
1 Paris St Germain 37 80
2 Lyon 37 72
3 Monaco 37 68
4 Marseille 37 66
5 St Etienne 37 66
6 Bordeaux 37 60
7 Montpellier 37 56
8 Lille 37 53
9 Rennes 37 50
10 Guingamp 37 49
11 Bastia 37 47
12 Nice 37 45
13 Nantes 37 45
14 Reims 37 44
15 Caen 37 43
16 Lorient 37 43
17 Toulouse 37 42
18 Evian Thonon Gaillar 37 37
19 Metz 37 30
20 RC Lens 37 26