Select a Team

Italian Serie A

Stadio Olimpico (ATT 19,000) 26th September 2012 - Kick off 19:45 Ref: D Orsato

Torino Torino vs Udinese Udinese

Torino 0


Udinese denied winner at Torino

Last Updated: 26/09/12 10:47pm

  • Share:
Rolando Bianchi clatters into Dusan Basta

Rolando Bianchi clatters into Dusan Basta

Torino and Udinese played out a goalless draw at the Stadio Olimpico on Wednesday night, with the Bianconeri refused a winner in stoppage time.

In a game played at a slow tempo, the Granata created the best chances on goal, but were unable to find a way past a Udinese side rotated heavily by head coach Francesco Guidolin.

In the end, though, the visitors felt they had won it when Mehdi Benatia's header was stopped right on the goal-line by Jean-Francois Gillet, who had his work cut out keeping the ball out as he slid over the line.

Neither side seemed to want to attack in the opening 30 minutes as they sized each other up in midfield.

The first break went Torino's way and Midjen Basha rattled the woodwork when his dipping volley struck the crossbar.

Udinese, who started without the likes of Antonio Di Natale and Diego Fabbrini, who were both rested by Guidolin, started to attack a little more in the second half, but Allan's shot from the edge of the penalty area did not test Gillet too much.

Torino went close again in the 49th minute when Gianluca Sansone's shot was pushed onto the crossbar by Brkic.

The post was next to be struck by Torino with Mario Santana's shot from the edge of the area beating Brkic, but not the left-hand upright, but there was nobody around to convert the rebound.

The ball did not want to go in for Torino, but Udinese claimed it had gone in at the other end when Benatia headed a corner into the arms of Gillet, whose legs were over the line

But the referee and the official behind the goal ruled that the Granata keeper had managed to keep the ball out.

  • Share:



Italian Serie A

Italian Serie A
Pos Team P Pts
1 Juventus 16 39
2 Roma 16 36
3 Napoli 16 27
4 Sampdoria 16 27
5 Lazio 16 27
6 Genoa 16 26
7 AC Milan 16 25
8 Fiorentina 16 24
9 Udinese 16 22
10 Palermo 16 22
11 Inter Milan 16 21
12 Sassuolo 16 20
13 Verona 16 17
14 Empoli 16 17
15 Torino 16 17
16 Chievo 16 16
17 Atalanta 16 15
18 Cagliari 16 12
19 Cesena 16 9
20 Parma 16 7