Select a Team

Scottish Championship

Shyberry Excelsior Stadium (ATT 702) 9th March 2013 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: A Crawford

Airdrie Airdrieonians vs Dunfermline Athletic Dunf'mline

Airdrie 3

N Blockley (11)
R Donnelly (53)
W McLaren (85)


Dunf'mline 3

S Husband (22)
R Wallace (86)
A Kirk (90+1)

SD1: Airdrie are held to a 3-3 draw by Dunfermline

Last Updated: 09/03/13 6:21pm

  • Share:
Andy Kirk: His late leveller denied Airdrie a vital three points

Andy Kirk: His late leveller denied Airdrie a vital three points

Andy Kirk scored in the final minute to earn Dunfermline a 3-3 draw at the Excelsior Stadium and deny Airdrie a vital three points in their relegation fight.

The opener came against the run of play as a rare foray forward from the hosts saw Gregor Buchanan whip in a cross which Nathan Blockley met with a low finish (11).

Until then the Pars had made all the running with decent chances for Stephen Husband and Craig Dargo and it was the former who levelled the scores on 22.

The home side had just threatened again through Blockley but a quick Dunfermline break produced a free-kick just outside the Airdrie area and Husband rifled in from 20 yards.

There were few clear cut chances for the remainder of the half with Ryan Wallace going closest for the visitors when he headed a Dargo cross onto the roof of the net.

The second half began in similar fashion to the first with Dunfermline making the early running only to fall behind again.

Ricki Lamie won a free-kick which was swung in by Willie McLaren and as the Pars defence could only half clear, Ryan Donnelly was left with a simple finish.

There were few signs of Dunfermline getting back into the game and McLaren appeared to have secured the points with a low drive.

But the Pars pulled one back 60 seconds later through Wallace and, with the clock ticking down, he turned provider to tee up Kirk for a stunning equaliser.

  • Share:


  • Scottish Championship

    Sat 9th Mar


Scottish Championship

Scottish Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Hearts 36 91
2 Hibernian 36 70
3 Rangers 36 67
4 Queen Of The South 36 60
5 Falkirk 36 53
6 Raith Rovers 36 43
7 Dumbarton 36 34
8 Livingston 36 27
9 Alloa Athletic 36 27
10 Cowdenbeath 36 25