Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

Estadi Cornella-El Prat (ATT 20,423) 3rd March 2013 - Kick off 16:00 Ref: J Paradas Romero

Espanyol Espanyol vs Real Valladolid Valladolid


Valladolid 0

Goalless draw at Espanyol

Last Updated: 03/03/13 6:26pm

  • Share:
Moreno: Had one of the game's better chances

Moreno: Had one of the game's better chances

Espanyol and Real Valladolid played out a dull goalless draw at the Cornella-El Prat in a game where excitement and chances were in short supply.

Valladolid got the point they would have wanted from the clash but Javier Aguirre's side would have left disappointed after previously picking up 16 points from a possible 18 home points since the Mexican replaced Mauricio Pochettino at the helm.

It was the visitors who registered the game's first shot on target after eight minutes when Rafael Sastre's 30-yard effort was caught by Francisco Casillaby.

Five minutes later Julian Omar Ramos fired wide from the left before Espanyol came into the match.

Sergio Garcia's 21st-minute shot was blocked by Jesus Rueda, with Hector Moreno's close-range header from the resulting corner going wide.

Espanyol suffered a blow after 37 minutes when Garcia Cristian Gomez had to be replaced by Diego Colotto after what looked like a serious injury.

The long-distance efforts kept coming as Joan Verdu's right-footed effort which flew over the bar brought to an end an uninspiring opening period.

Samuele Longo was replaced by Mubarak Wakaso as Aguirre's side searched for the opening goal, but the second period began as the first ended. This time it was Manucho's effort which missed the target.

Wakaso failed to test Daniel Hernandez after 65 minutes, before Moreno somehow headed Simao Sabrosa's corner wide from close range.

There was little else to talk of in the remaining 20 minutes as Valladolid left with the point they had come for.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 38 94
2 Real Madrid 38 92
3 Atletico Madrid 38 78
4 Valencia 38 77
5 Sevilla 38 76
6 Villarreal 38 60
7 Athletic Bilbao 38 55
8 Celta Vigo 38 51
9 Malaga 38 50
10 Espanyol 38 49
11 Rayo Vallecano 38 49
12 Real Sociedad 38 46
13 Elche 38 41
14 Levante 38 37
15 Getafe 38 37
16 Deportivo La Coruna 38 35
17 Granada 38 35
18 Eibar 38 35
19 Almeria 38 32
20 Cordoba 38 20