Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

San Mames (ATT 14,000) 7th October 2012 - Kick off 17:00 Ref: J Gonzalez Gonzalez

Ath Bilbao Athletic Bilbao vs Osasuna Osasuna

Ath Bilbao 1

A Aduriz (12)


Osasuna 0

Narrow win for Bilbao

Last Updated: 07/10/12 8:24pm

  • Share:
Aritz Aduriz: Scored Bilbao's winner

Aritz Aduriz: Scored Bilbao's winner

Aritz Aduriz's early goal earned Athletic Bilbao a much-needed 1-0 win at home to fellow Primera Division strugglers Osasuna.

The striker guided the ball home from inside the area to give last season's Europa League runners-up just their second league win of the campaign.

Osasuna, in the bottom three, could count themselves desperately unfortunate not to have taken something from the game as they hit the bar twice and a post once, but the hosts rode their luck.

Athletic went in front after 12 minutes when Oscar De Marcos' ball in from the right picked out Aduriz and his finish found the bottom-right corner.

Aduriz almost added another midway through the first half, but his header from a Markel Susaeta corner went over.

The visitors took drastic action to get back into the match, making a double substitution after only half-an-hour with Francisco Punal and Roland Lamah replacing Anthony Annan and Sisi.

Lamah had an instant impact as he crashed a shot against the bar and the woodwork came to Athletic's rescue again two minutes later, Lolo's 30-yard free-kick also coming back off the bar.

The visitors, with just one win to their name this season, continued to press for an equaliser after the break and Joseba Llorente brought a save from Gorka Iraizoz.

At the other end De Marcos' shot was blocked by visiting keeper Andres.

The hosts continued to live dangerously, though, a David Timor free-kick from the left edge of the area coming back off the post.

Iraizoz then held a Lamah header with two minutes remaining but Athletic held on to claim a timely victory.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Barcelona 38 94
2 Real Madrid 38 92
3 Atletico Madrid 38 78
4 Valencia 38 77
5 Sevilla 38 76
6 Villarreal 38 60
7 Athletic Bilbao 38 55
8 Celta Vigo 38 51
9 Malaga 38 50
10 Espanyol 38 49
11 Rayo Vallecano 38 49
12 Real Sociedad 38 46
13 Elche 38 41
14 Levante 38 37
15 Getafe 38 37
16 Deportivo La Coruna 38 35
17 Granada 38 35
18 Eibar 38 35
19 Almeria 38 32
20 Cordoba 38 20