Select a Team

German Bundesliga

Borussia-Park (ATT 47,673) 3rd November 2012 - Kick off 14:30 Ref: W Stark

M'gladbach Borussia Monchengladbach vs SC Freiburg Freiburg

M'gladbach 1

I de Camargo (49)


Freiburg 1

D Caligiuri (pen 77)

Freiburg share the spoils at Gladbach

Last Updated: 03/11/12 7:09pm

  • Share:
Daniel Caliguiri scores from the spot

Daniel Caliguiri scores from the spot

Freiburg came from a goal down to ensure a share of the points with Borussia Monchengladbach.

Igor de Camargo gave Gladbach the lead in the 49th minute but Daniel Caligiuri equalised from the spot in the 77th minute to earn his side a 1-1 draw.

The draw leaves Freiburg two points behind their opponents in the Bundesliga table.

The first chance went to the visitors in the 17th minute but Max Kruse fired wide from the edge of the box.

Freiburg went close again three minutes later with Kruse crossing from the right to the far post, but Cedrick Makiadi failed to get his shot past Gladbach goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Gladbach finally threatened after 35 minutes from a set-piece, Freiburg keeper Oliver Baumann making a superb save to keep out Alvaro Dominguez's shot from Juan Arango's corner.

The hosts took the lead four minutes after the re-start, though, as Oscar Wendt crossed from the left side to De Camargo, who had an easy tap-in from four yards out.

Gladbach had a couple of chances to double their advantage but Lukas Rupp fired wide from six yards after a fine cross from Patrick Herrmann in the 55th minute, and Rupp's drive from distance also went wide 10 minutes later.

Freiburg withstood the pressure and had a chance in the 69th minute but Caligiuri's header was inches past the left post.

The visitors were back on terms 13 minutes from time, though, as Oliver Sorg was brought down by Arango with Caligiuri firing the resulting penalty low into the net.

Caligiuri was close again just three minutes later but this time directed his effort wide.

  • Share:



German Bundesliga

German Bundesliga
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bayern Munich 26 64
2 Wolfsburg 26 54
3 Borussia Monchengladbach 26 47
4 Bayer Leverkusen 26 45
5 Schalke 26 39
6 FC Augsburg 26 38
7 Hoffenheim 26 37
8 Eintracht Frankfurt 26 34
9 Werder Bremen 26 34
10 Borussia Dortmund 26 33
11 Mainz 26 30
12 Cologne 26 30
13 Hertha Berlin 26 29
14 Hannover 96 26 27
15 SC Freiburg 26 25
16 Hamburg 26 25
17 SC Paderborn 07 26 24
18 Stuttgart 26 23