Select a Team

German Bundesliga

(ATT 26,862) 22nd September 2012 - Kick off 14:30 Ref: Bastian Dankert

F Dusseldorf Fortuna Dusseldorf vs SC Freiburg Freiburg

F Dusseldorf 0


Fortuna keep it clean again

Last Updated: 23/09/12 12:48pm

  • Share:
No goals at the Dusseldorf Arena

No goals at the Dusseldorf Arena

Fortuna Dusseldorf remain the only team in the Bundesliga not to have conceded a goal this season after playing out a goalless draw with Freiburg.

Keeping a clean sheet seemed to be the home team's priority too as they showed a reluctance to attack in front of only 25,000 fans inside the Dusseldorf Arena - due to league-imposed crowd restrictions.

Yet they almost took all three points as they hit the woodwork in stoppage time of an even contest.

Danny Schahin, picked by coach Norbert Meier despite picking up facial injuries in training on Wednesday, was Fortuna's greatest threat in the first half, but chances were few and far between as both goalkeepers became spectators for much of the first 45 minutes.

Andrei Voronin wasted a good chance to set up Schahin towards the end of the first half, instead opting to keep possession .

The first moment of real danger came in the 52nd minute when Robbie Kruse's cross tempted Schahin, but he did not get a decent contact on the ball from eight yards out and sent it wide of the target.

Freiburg's attackers may well have taken their places in the stands too as the service to them was relatively non-existent.

Both sides seemed happy enough to settle for a solitary point, but a rare break almost earned Dusseldorf all three as the referee prepared to blow the final whistle.

Rafael hit the crossbar from close range and Cha Du-ri scooped the rebound over the goalmouth before the proceedings were brought to an end.

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private



German Bundesliga

German Bundesliga
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bayern Munich 34 90
2 Borussia Dortmund 34 71
3 Schalke 34 64
4 Bayer Leverkusen 34 61
5 Wolfsburg 34 60
6 Borussia Monchengladbach 34 55
7 Mainz 34 53
8 FC Augsburg 34 52
9 Hoffenheim 34 44
10 Hannover 96 34 42
11 Hertha Berlin 34 41
12 Werder Bremen 34 39
13 Eintracht Frankfurt 34 36
14 SC Freiburg 34 36
15 Stuttgart 34 32
16 Hamburg 34 27
17 FC Nurnberg 34 26
18 Eintracht Braunschweig 34 25