Select a Team

German Bundesliga

Impuls Arena (ATT 30,401) 25th August 2012 - Kick off 14:30 Ref: K Kircher

FC Augsburg FC Augsburg vs Fortuna Dusseldorf F Dusseldorf


F Dusseldorf 2

D Schahin (68, 79)

Successful return for Dusseldorf

Last Updated: 25/08/12 8:01pm

  • Share:
Dani Schahin converts the opener for Fortuna

Dani Schahin converts the opener for Fortuna

Two goals by Dani Schahin guided Fortuna Dusseldorf to a 2-0 victory as they made a successful return to the Bundesliga after a 15-year absence.

The striker struck after 69 minutes with a long-range shot before sealing victory 10 minutes later when he converted from close range.

While it was a dream return to the top flight for Fortuna, it was a miserable start to the season for Augsburg who lost coach Jos Luhukay to Hertha Berlin this summer.

Neither side particularly dominated a goalless first half.

Sebastian Langkamp's header was the first effort of the game but it did not threaten Fortuna goalkeeper Fabian Giefer's goal.

Adam Bodzek shot from long-range for the visitors, before the hosts had the first meaningful effort on target when Ja-Cheol Koo sent in a 35-yard strike which was well saved to his left by Giefer.

Andreas Ottl shot wide from distance for the hosts before Oliver Fink's close-range header was tipped away for a corner by home keeper Simon Jentzsch.

Both sides traded long-range efforts with none testing either goalkeeper as the half came to an end.

The second period carried on in the same vein although the visitors came closest when Nando Rafael jinked his way through only for Langkamp to make a vital intervention.

However, Fortuna eventually made the breakthrough, Schahin running down the right and unleashing a drilled shot from 25 yards which went into the bottom right-hand corner.

Schahin completed his double 10 minutes later when he converted Robbie Kruse's cross into the area from close range to seal the win.

  • Share:



German Bundesliga

German Bundesliga
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bayern Munich 17 45
2 Wolfsburg 17 34
3 Bayer Leverkusen 17 28
4 Borussia Monchengladbach 17 27
5 Schalke 17 27
6 FC Augsburg 17 27
7 Hoffenheim 17 26
8 Hannover 96 17 24
9 Eintracht Frankfurt 17 23
10 SC Paderborn 07 17 19
11 Cologne 17 19
12 Mainz 17 18
13 Hertha Berlin 17 18
14 Hamburg 17 17
15 Stuttgart 17 17
16 Werder Bremen 17 17
17 Borussia Dortmund 17 15
18 SC Freiburg 17 15