Select a Team

Scottish Championship

New Douglas Park (ATT 1,423) 5th January 2013 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: B Colvin

Hamilton Hamilton Academical vs Falkirk Falkirk

Hamilton 1

D Mackinnon (80)


Falkirk 1

L Taylor (13)
J Flynn (S/O 58)

Falkirk denied late on

Last Updated: 05/01/13 8:19pm

  • Share:
Lyle Taylor: On the mark again for Falkirk

Lyle Taylor: On the mark again for Falkirk

A late goal from Darian Mackinnon earned Hamilton a 1-1 draw against 10-man Falkirk at New Douglas Park.

The Accies substitute pounced with just 10 minutes remaining to cancel out a fine early effort by Lyle Taylor.

After a tense opening few minutes, top scorer Lyle, who bagged a hat-trick against Dumbarton last week, latched onto an error from keeper Kevin Cuthbert to fire the Bairns ahead in the 13th minute.

Blair Alston came close to doubling the visitors' advantage but shot narrowly wide before Steven May passed up a glorious chance to level, missing the target from just inside the box.

Falkirk were reduced to 10 men in the 58th minute when referee Brian Colvin showed defender Jonny Flynn a straight red after judging he had tugged the jersey of striker Gary Fisher, denying him a goalscoring opportunity.

Accies made their numbers tell but found keeper Michael McGovern in sparkling form.

The former Ross County man denied Jon Routledge from close range just minutes after Ali Crawford saw an effort fly narrowly over the crossbar.

And McGovern's best save - a superb block from a goalbound Andy Ryan drive - looked to have earned Falkirk all three points before Mackinnon pounced.

Just minutes after being introduced as a substitute by boss Billy Reid, the former Clydebank striker tapped home from close range following a scramble in the home box to bring the sides level.

Falkirk enjoyed the bulk of possession after the equaliser but were almost undone by a fierce Ryan drive which was deflected behind McGovern's goal in the dying seconds.

  • Share:


  • Scottish Championship

    Sat 5th Jan


Scottish Championship

Scottish Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Hearts 21 54
2 Rangers 20 41
3 Hibernian 22 39
4 Falkirk 22 34
5 Queen Of The South 21 33
6 Raith Rovers 21 28
7 Dumbarton 22 22
8 Cowdenbeath 21 15
9 Alloa Athletic 21 14
10 Livingston 21 11