Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Home Park (ATT 9,203) 23rd August 2008 - Kick off 17:20 Ref: A D'Urso

Plymouth Plymouth Argyle vs Swansea City Swansea

Scotland seals Swans win

Plymouth booed off after lacklustre display

Last Updated: 23/08/08 7:18pm

  • Share:
Scotland: Match-winner

Scotland: Match-winner

Jason Scotland's first goal of the season secured Swansea City a 1-0 win at out-of-sorts Plymouth Argyle.

The striker, who agreed a new contract earlier this month, struck just before half-time at a Home Park inhabited by restless Pilgrims supporters.

Chances were at a premium during the first half, with Plymouth striker Rory Fallon stabbing wide of the target from 20 yards.

Swansea responded with Mark Gower cutting infield on his left foot and his shot, which was going wide, was turned away for a corner by Plymouth keeper Graham Stack.

Moment of quality

Just before half-time, a moment of quality opened up the Plymouth defence to enable Swansea to score the game's only goal.

Scotland laid the ball off to Darren Pratley, who clipped through a delightful pass for his team-mate to run on to and smash past Stack.

Plymouth, who had been booed off at half-time, were unfortunate not to be on level terms within six minutes of the start of the second half when Marcel Seip's far-post header was chalked off.

Referee Andy D'Urso had spotted an offence as the corner came into the box, but there appeared little to justify the decision to disallow Seip's header.

With the hosts struggling to fashion an opening, Swansea midfielder Pratley burst into the box and saw his shot cannon back off Stack.

Substitute Jamie Mackie fired straight at Swansea keeper Dorus De Vries in injury-time, but the visitors held on for a first away win of the season.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 46 90
2 Watford 46 89
3 Norwich City 46 86
4 Middlesbrough 46 85
5 Brentford 46 78
6 Ipswich Town 46 78
7 Wolverhampton Wanderers 46 78
8 Derby County 46 77
9 Blackburn Rovers 46 67
10 Birmingham City 46 63
11 Cardiff City 46 62
12 Charlton Athletic 46 60
13 Sheffield Wednesday 46 60
14 Nottingham Forest 46 59
15 Leeds United 46 56
16 Huddersfield Town 46 55
17 Fulham 46 52
18 Bolton Wanderers 46 51
19 Reading 46 50
20 Brighton and Hove Albion 46 47
21 Rotherham United 46 46
22 Millwall 46 41
23 Wigan Athletic 46 39
24 Blackpool 46 26