Select a Team

Sky Bet League 1

Brunton Park (ATT 4,184) 8th October 2011 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: R Lewis

Carlisle Carlisle United vs Brentford Brentford

Carlisle 2

J Berrett (23)
D Clarkson (og 63)


Brentford 2

D Clarkson (9)
T Diagouraga (88)

Diagouraga thwarts Cumbrians

Last Updated: 08/10/11 6:50pm

  • Share:
Diagouraga: Struck late equaliser

Diagouraga: Struck late equaliser

A late Toumani Diagouraga strike earned Brentford a 2-2 draw against Carlisle United at Brunton Park on Saturday afternoon.

Clarkson had put Bees into an early lead only for James Berrett to level before half-time. Clarkson's own goal looked to have won it for the Cumbrians but in the end it was the home side who were left clinging on.

Carlisle started brightly but were shaken out of their stride when Brentford grabbed a ninth-minute goal through on-loan Bristol City striker Clarkson. The goal was instigated by a great run down the right from defender Adam Thompson who planted a cross onto the head of Jonathan Douglas whose cushioned header was swept home by Clarkson from eight yards.

Goalkeeper Richard Lee kept Brentford in the lead with a fine one-handed save to deny Liam Noble. But Carlisle drew level in the 23rd minute when Noble drifted beyond the far post to nod Matty Robson's cross back into the danger area where Berrett swooped to side-foot home from six yards.

There was a distinct slice of luck about Carlisle's second in the 62nd minute which came from a free-kick on the right after James Tavernier had been obstructed. Berrett's ball into the box flew off Clarkson and into the net catching Lee unawares.

Brentford thought they had equalised with a header from Diagouraga which was cleared off the line by Francois Zoko. But there was no denying the visitors when Clarkson slipped the ball through to lanky midfielder Diagouraga who beat Carlisle goalkeeper Adam Collin from close-range.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 1

Sky Bet League 1
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bristol City 44 93
2 Preston North End 43 83
3 Milton Keynes Dons 43 82
4 Swindon Town 42 76
5 Sheffield United 44 69
6 Chesterfield 44 68
7 Rochdale 43 60
8 Fleetwood Town 44 60
9 Gillingham 44 59
10 Barnsley 44 59
11 Peterborough United 44 59
12 Bradford City 43 58
13 Doncaster Rovers 43 58
14 Oldham Athletic 44 56
15 Walsall 43 55
16 Coventry City 44 52
17 Scunthorpe United 43 52
18 Port Vale 44 51
19 Crawley Town 44 50
20 Crewe Alexandra 44 49
21 Leyton Orient 43 47
22 Notts County 43 47
23 Colchester United 43 45
24 Yeovil Town 44 40