Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Ricoh Arena (ATT 17,994) 23rd August 2008 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: P Dowd

Coventry Coventry City vs Bristol City Bristol C

Adebola enjoys Coventry return

Former Sky Blues striker sinks former club

Last Updated: 23/08/08 5:59pm

  • Share:
Adebola: On target

Adebola: On target

Dele Adebola enjoyed his return to Coventry as he scored one and created another to extend Bristol City's unbeaten start.

The Sky Blues were knocked off the summit of the Championship by their heavy home defeat, with Adebola grabbing a controversial opener.

He then set up Michael McIndoe to make it 2-0 after the interval before Steve Brooker stepped off the bench to score a third in injury time.

The opening goal game after Adebola clashed with Coventry goalkeeper Keiren Westwood as the pair challenged for McIndoe's left-wing cross.

The coming-together on the penalty spot left Westwood motionless on the ground, and as Coventry players appealed for referee Phil Dowd to award a free-kick in their favour, Adebola manoeuvred himself from his position on the floor to poke the ball over the line.

The restart was held up by several minutes as Westwood, visibly shaken, tried to regain his composure. However, he had to be replaced by Andy Marshall.

Adebola's goal in the 17th minute was against the run of play after Coventry had enjoyed the better of the opening exchanges.

Point to prove

Sky Blues striker Michael Mifsud perhaps had a point to prove against the club that almost signed him last month.

Mifsud's protracted £1.5million move to Bristol City collapsed after Robins boss Gary Johnson pulled the plug on the deal, questioning if Mifsud had the 'right personality' to play for the Ashton Gate club.

But the Malta international looked lively and dangerous playing on the right-hand side of midfield.

Coventry thought they should have been awarded a penalty in the 36th minute when Liam Fontaine appeared to pull Clinton Morrison's shirt and send the striker crashing to the ground as he advanced towards goal.

Sky Blues manager Chris Coleman was so incensed by Dowd's decision not to point to the spot that he was sent from the touchline for his protests.

Morrison missed two glorious chances to equalise in injury-time at the end of the first half.

A defensive mistake allowed him through on goal but with just Adriano Basso to beat he lifted the bouncing ball over the Brazilian and wide.

Another chance fell the Republic of Ireland international's way soon after, but Basso produced an instinctive one-handed save from point-blank range to keep out his header.

Coventry were made to pay when McIndoe struck nine minutes after the restart.

Adebola played the ball into the winger's path on the left-hand side of the penalty area and McIndoe found the far corner with a splendid shot that went in off the post.


The hosts could have halved their deficit immediately when Basso rushed from his goal to make a clearance and presented the ball to Leon McKenzie on the left-hand touchline.

But McKenzie, a half-time substitute for Freddy Eastwood, sent his effort over the unguarded net from midway inside the Bristol City half.

It was Marshall's turn to have an aberration in the 63rd minute. His heavy touch from a routine back-pass was pounced upon by Nicky Maynard, but Elliott Ward came to Marshall's rescue by heading the Bristol City striker's shot off the line.

The Robins could have sealed the game with six minutes remaining when substitute Ivan Sproule raced clear, but Marshall saved with his legs when one-on-one.

Immediately afterwards at the other end, Basso produced a superb save to tip Morrison's header from inside the six-yard box on to the post.

Bristol City did score a third goal when Brooker, a 76th-minute replacement for Adebola, controlled Sproule's mishit shot and turned to fire a low shot past the helpless Marshall from 10 yards out.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 27 51
2 Middlesbrough 27 50
3 Ipswich Town 27 50
4 Brentford 27 49
5 Derby County 26 48
6 Watford 27 47
7 Wolverhampton Wanderers 27 44
8 Norwich City 27 43
9 Sheffield Wednesday 26 37
10 Blackburn Rovers 26 36
11 Birmingham City 26 35
12 Nottingham Forest 27 34
13 Cardiff City 27 34
14 Fulham 27 34
15 Huddersfield Town 27 34
16 Bolton Wanderers 26 33
17 Charlton Athletic 27 32
18 Reading 26 30
19 Brighton and Hove Albion 27 29
20 Leeds United 27 29
21 Rotherham United 26 26
22 Millwall 26 23
23 Wigan Athletic 27 21
24 Blackpool 27 17