Select a Team

Sky Bet League 2

Globe Arena (ATT 2,067) 29th October 2011 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: C Boyeson

Morecambe Morecambe vs Gillingham Gillingham

Morecambe 2

G Hunter (8)
K Ellison (68)


Gillingham 1

F Nouble (pen 90+5)

Morecambe maintain winning run

Last Updated: 29/10/11 6:36pm

  • Share:
Hunter: Fine opener

Hunter: Fine opener

Morecambe sealed their third home win of the season with a 2-1 victory over Gillingham to maintain the pressure at the top of League Two.

Goals in either half from Garry Hunter and Kevin Ellison gave the Shrimps the advantage and, although Gillingham hit back with a 92nd-minute penalty through Frank Nouble, Morecambe held on for a welcome home win in their 200th Football League match.

Jim Bentley's side got off to the perfect start when Garry Hunter scored his first goal of the season after only eight minutes. Hunter received the ball on the edge of the area and produced a superb, dipping volley which beat Ross Flitney as it went in off the crossbar.

Gillingham hit back and enjoyed a large share of possession without producing too many threatening moments. Luke Rooney looked the visitors' most lively player and finally tested Barry Roche on the half-hour with a save at his near post after Chris Whelpdale had fired wide.

The second half continued in much the same way, with Gillingham seeing a lot of the ball but being held at arm's length by some excellent Morecambe defending. That solid platform proved vital as Morecambe added a second on the break. Stewart Drummond found Izak Reid down the left with a superb ball and the wide man teed up Ellison, who produced a fine finish from 12 yards to double the Shrimps' advantage.

Gillingham finally broke the Shrimps' defence in injury time when they won a penalty after Roche had brought down Joe Kuffour in the box. Frank Nouble slotted home the spot kick but the final whistle went seconds later as the Shrimps held on for a welcome three points.

  • Share:



Sky Bet League 2

Sky Bet League 2
Pos Team P Pts
1 AFC Wimbledon 0 0
2 Accrington Stanley 0 0
3 Burton Albion 0 0
4 Bury 0 0
5 Cambridge United 0 0
6 Carlisle United 0 0
7 Cheltenham Town 0 0
8 Dagenham & Redbridge 0 0
9 Exeter City 0 0
10 Hartlepool United 0 0
11 Luton Town 0 0
12 Mansfield Town 0 0
13 Morecambe 0 0
14 Newport County AFC 0 0
15 Northampton Town 0 0
16 Oxford United 0 0
17 Plymouth Argyle 0 0
18 Portsmouth 0 0
19 Shrewsbury Town 0 0
20 Southend United 0 0
21 Stevenage 0 0
22 Tranmere Rovers 0 0
23 Wycombe Wanderers 0 0
24 York City 0 0