Select a Team

Spanish Primera BBVA

ONO Estadi (ATT 10,000) 14th February 2011 - Kick off 20:00 Ref: J Estrada Fernandez

Mallorca Real Mallorca vs Athletic Bilbao Ath Bilbao

Mallorca 1

P Webo (11)


Missed chance for Bilbao

Webo goal proves enough for Mallorca

Last Updated: 14/02/11 10:58pm

  • Share:
Webo: Earned the points

Webo: Earned the points

Athletic Bilbao missed the chance to close to within four points of fourth-placed Villarreal and the UEFA Champions League spots after seeing their winning streak ended by Real Mallorca.

SKY SPORTS ON SKY There's more live football on Sky Sports than ever before, including the Barclays Premier League, UEFA Champions League, Clydesdale Bank Premier League, England away Euro 2012 qualifiers and La Liga. With four live Sky Sports channels, as well as Sky Sports News, you'll never miss a moment on Sky. Click here for more.

Athletic had charged up to fifth in the Primera Division after winning six of their last eight matches - including each of their last four - and would have been desperate to take advantage of Villarreal's shock loss to Deportivo La Coruna at the weekend.

However, Joaquin Caparros' men were left empty-handed on the Balearic Island after going down to an early Pierre Webo goal.

Mallorca had taken just one point from their previous four matches, but tonight's win lifts Michael Laudrup's men level with seventh-placed Getafe and two other teams - Sevilla and Real Sociedad - on 31 points.

Mallorca had suffered a surprise 4-0 mauling at the hands of lowly Sporting Gijon in their last home match, but they were determined to avoid a repeat this evening.

The hosts were ahead with only 11 minutes on the clock when Webo, who was back in the starting line-up after missing the draw with Osasuna through suspension, netted his fifth goal of the season.

The powerful Cameroon forward showed quick reactions to divert Emilio Nsue's cross past Gorka Iraizoz at his near post.

  • Share:



Spanish Primera BBVA

Spanish Primera BBVA
Pos Team P Pts
1 Atletico Madrid 34 85
2 Real Madrid 33 79
3 Barcelona 33 78
4 Athletic Bilbao 33 62
5 Sevilla 33 56
6 Real Sociedad 34 54
7 Villarreal 33 52
8 Valencia 34 45
9 Levante 34 41
10 Espanyol 34 41
11 Malaga 33 38
12 Celta Vigo 33 37
13 Granada 33 37
14 Rayo Vallecano 33 37
15 Osasuna 34 35
16 Elche 34 35
17 Real Valladolid 33 32
18 Getafe 34 32
19 Almeria 33 30
20 Real Betis 33 22