Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

The Liberty Stadium (ATT 16,316) 3rd May 2009 - Kick off 13:15 Ref: C Boyeson

Swansea Swansea City vs Blackpool Blackpool

Seasiders sink Swans

Campbell nets winner for Blackpool

Last Updated: 03/05/09 4:37pm

  • Share:
Campbell: Match-winner

Campbell: Match-winner

DJ Campbell netted the only goal of the game at the Liberty Stadium as Blackpool finished their season with a 1-0 victory over Swansea.

On-loan Leicester striker Campbell struck after just 13 minutes and Blackpool had further chances to extend their lead in the first half.

Swansea, who had no chance of breaking into the play-off spots, fought back after the break but could not force an equaliser.

Deadlock broken

After Swansea's Thomas Butler had seen an effort saved by Paul Rachubka, the visitors took the lead with their first real opportunity.

Brett Ormerod slotted the ball across to Campbell on the left of the area and the striker finished calmly into the bottom corner.

Keith Southern headed wide at the far post after David Vaughan's corner before Swansea were spurred into life.

Jordi Gomez shot wide from 20 yards, Shaun MacDonald drilled off target and Scotland had an effort blocked.

Butler had a low shot from 18 yards held by Rachubka and Charlie Adam fired over at the other end in a sedate start to the second half.

Scotland chances

Roy O'Donovan had a right-foot effort from 18 yards saved by Dorus De Vries before Gomez had a free-kick blocked for Swansea.

Jason Scotland was having a quiet game, but the top scorer had three opportunities in quick succession.

The prolific frontman is an ever-present threat and Rachubka had to be alert to save at his feet from the Trinidad and Tobago international with 22 minutes remaining.

From the resulting corner taken by Gomez, Scotland had a left-foot shot blocked by Stephen Crainey.

Scotland then shot wide from the edge of the area before Rachubka saved from Andrea Orlandi.

Crainey had a free-kick blocked at the other end and Joe Allen shot over for Swansea as Blackpool stood firm for a 13th win of the campaign.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Nottingham Forest 4 10
2 Watford 4 9
3 Norwich City 4 9
4 Wolverhampton Wanderers 4 9
5 Charlton Athletic 4 8
6 Sheffield Wednesday 4 8
7 Derby County 4 7
8 Cardiff City 4 7
9 Millwall 4 7
10 Blackburn Rovers 4 7
11 Bournemouth 4 6
12 Middlesbrough 4 6
13 Brighton and Hove Albion 4 6
14 Rotherham United 4 6
15 Brentford 4 5
16 Birmingham City 4 5
17 Ipswich Town 4 4
18 Wigan Athletic 4 4
19 Reading 4 4
20 Huddersfield Town 4 4
21 Leeds United 4 3
22 Bolton Wanderers 4 1
23 Blackpool 4 0
24 Fulham 4 0