Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Loftus Road (ATT 13,742) 13th April 2009 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: D Deadman

QPR Queens Park Rangers vs Sheffield Wednesday Sheff Wed



Rangers comeback stuns Owls

Rangers rally to win five-goal thriller

Last Updated: 13/04/09 5:15pm

  • Share:
Stewart: Late winner

Stewart: Late winner

Managerless QPR came from two goals down to earn a 3-2 win over Sheffield Wednesday at Loftus Road.

Damion Stewart grabbed the winner two minutes from time to secure an unlikely win for caretaker boss Gareth Ainsworth.

Wednesday were gifted the opener on 35 minutes when Gavin Mahon headed into his own net and Marcus Tudgay added a second from the penalty spot on 53 minutes.

QPR reduced the arrears just past the hour mark with long-term injury victim Rowan Vine netting his first goal of the season.

Mahon made amends for his own goal with the equaliser on 74 minutes and big defender Stewart completed the comeback with the third from Lee Cook's cross two minutes from the end.

The Londoners will see the victory as nothing more than they deserved as they created chance after chance throughout the game and were denied by the woodwork twice in the first half.

The game began in lively fashion and the home side were soon on the front foot and creating chances.

Heidar Helguson fired wide from an acute angle after breaking down the right before Adel Taarabt wasted a great opportunity to open the scoring after he blasted over from six yards.

Helguson again missed the target from a good position before Wayne Routledge hit the post after bearing down on Wednesday goalkeeper Lee Grant.

From the resulting corner defender Stewart had his header cleared off the line by Richard Hinds.

Rangers' complete dominance continued and they missed another opportunity to take a deserved lead as Jordi Lopez failed to work Grant from eight yards out.


And they were stung by a rare Wednesday attack in the 35th minute. Etienne Esajas forced a corner and, after taking it short, crossed into the area where Mahon made a mess of his attempted clearance and succeeded only in heading past Radek Cerny.

The goal did nothing to stop the constant flow of home chances, though, as Icelandic striker Helguson fired onto the post and Lopez forced Grant into a neat save.

Early in the second half Wednesday made Rangers pay for their missed chances when they doubled the lead from the penalty spot. Kaspars Gorkss felled Leon Clarke and Tudgay fired down the centre of the goal, with Cerny diving over the ball.

Rangers could easily have dropped their heads after finding themselves 2-0 down after total domination, but they continued to attack Wednesday and battled back into the game just after the hour.

Routledge showed directness as he produced a surging run into the penalty area before laying the ball back for substitute Vine, who had the simplest of tasks to tap the ball home from close range.

The goal buoyed Ainsworth's side and with 18 minutes remaining they restored parity when Mahon executed his header in much better fashion in Wednesday's area and the ball nestled in the bottom corner.

Rangers had the scent of victory and hustled for one more chance, and just as it looked as though Rangers would have to settle for a point, Cook broke down the left and put in a cross for Stewart, who thumped his header past Grant.

Wednesday were forced onto the front foot and for the first time in the game they put Rangers under pressure and they almost levelled, but Cerny produced a finger-tip save to deny Darren Potter and Rangers held on.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Leicester City 42 90
2 Burnley 42 83
3 Derby County 42 75
4 Queens Park Rangers 42 73
5 Wigan Athletic 41 67
6 Reading 42 64
7 Brighton and Hove Albion 42 64
8 Ipswich Town 42 64
9 Bournemouth 42 62
10 Blackburn Rovers 42 60
11 Nottingham Forest 42 59
12 Middlesbrough 42 58
13 Watford 41 57
14 Bolton Wanderers 42 54
15 Sheffield Wednesday 42 50
16 Leeds United 42 50
17 Huddersfield Town 42 46
18 Birmingham City 41 43
19 Doncaster Rovers 42 43
20 Blackpool 42 42
21 Charlton Athletic 41 41
22 Millwall 42 40
23 Barnsley 42 39
24 Yeovil Town 42 36