Select a Team

Johnstone's Paint Trophy

Edgar Street (ATT 897) 6th October 2009 - Kick off 19:45 Ref: C Sarginson

Hereford Hereford United vs Aldershot Town Aldershot

Hereford 2

J Walker (42)
M Manset (89)


Aldershot 2

K Hudson (15)
L Soares (90+4)

Hereford win 4-3 on penalties

Bulls claim shootout glory

Blackburn & Hilton misses seal Shots' fate

Last Updated: 06/10/09 10:58pm

  • Share:
Trewick: Shootout winners

Trewick: Shootout winners

Hereford knocked Aldershot out of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy after winning a penalty shootout 4-3 at Edgar Street.

Mark Marshall, Marc Pugh, Kenny Lunt and Mathieu Manset all scored from the spot for Hereford, while goalkeeper Adam Bartlett saved Chris Blackburn's kick and Danny Hilton drilled his effort against the bar.

Aldershot went in front in the 14th minute when Hylton weaved his way along the by-line before cutting the ball back to Kirk Hudson, who beat goalkeeper Bartlett with a low shot from eight yards.

Hereford striker Leon Constantine failed to find the target with two long-range shots before the Bulls levelled in the 42nd minute. Constantine slipped the ball to James Walker who rifled a tremendous 35-yard shot into the roof of the net.

Straight after the interval Hudson had a chance to restore Aldershot's lead but he drilled the ball wide with only Hereford keeper Bartlett to beat.

Hereford substitute Manset put Hereford in front in the 90th minute when he scored from close range.

But deep into injury time Louis Soares snatched a late equaliser for Aldershot taking the game into the penalty shootout, only to suffer the heart-ache of shootout defeat.

  • Share:


  • Johnstone's Paint Trophy

    Tue 6th Oct - Northern Area Second Round
    Tue 6th Oct - Southern Area Second Round